125 Home

    Devine Sculpture To Be Unveiled Friday

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks
    devinestatue.jpg A sculpture of former University of Notre Dame football coach Dan Devine, a member of the College Football Hall of Fame and coach of the 1977 Irish national championship team, will be dedicated Friday (Oct. 7, the day before Notre Dame's home football game against Air Force) in a ceremony at Notre Dame Stadium.

    The dedication will take place at Notre Dame Stadium's Gate A, which in 2010 was designated the Dan Devine gate when the sculptures of Knute Rockne (north tunnel), Ara Parseghian (Gate B), Frank Leahy (Gate C) and Lou Holtz (Gate D) were re-located outside the stadium walls. Rockne, Parseghian, Leahy, Holtz and Devine are the five former Irish football coaches - all of them Hall of Fame inductees - who have won one or more national titles at Notre Dame.

    The dedication is a private, ticketed event - but there will be areas for public viewing. More than 50 members of the Devine family are expected to return to campus for the sculpture dedication.

    Notre Dame graduate Jerry McKenna created the sculpture. He also created the Rockne, Leahy, Holtz and Parseghian sculptures at Notre Dame Stadium, the Moose Krause sculpture east of Notre Dame Stadium and the Knute Rockne sculpture at the College Football Hall of Fame in downtown South Bend, Ind.

    The sculpture was funded by donations from Devine's former players, coaches, and staff members, and longtime University benefactors Joe and Barbara Mendelson of Santa Barbara, Calif. The Mendelsons also funded the Rockne sculpture at Notre Dame Stadium in 2009.

    Notre Dame's head football coach from 1975-80, Devine served as head coach of the 1977 Irish consensus national title team and also won two of the most dramatic postseason bowl games in Irish annals - the 1978 Cotton Bowl victory over top-rated Texas and the '79 Cotton Bowl triumph over Houston that featured a stirring second-half comeback from a 34-12 deficit.

    Among the Irish standouts he coached were Outland, Lombardi and Maxwell award-winning defensive lineman Ross Browner, Walter Camp Player of the Year and tight end Ken MacAfee, first-team All-Americans Steve Niehaus at defensive tackle, Luther Bradley at cornerback, Bob Golic at linebacker, Dave Huffman at center, Vagas Ferguson at tailback, Tim Foley at offensive tackle, Bob Crable at linebacker, John Scully at center, Scott Zettek at defensive end, plus all-star quarterback Joe Montana.

    As head coach at Arizona State from 1955-1957, Devine accumulated a 27-3-1 record. From 1958-1970, he guided Missouri to a 93-37-7 mark. Among his achievements at Missouri were victories in the 1961 Orange Bowl, '62 Bluebonnet Bowl, '66 Sugar Bowl and '68 Gator Bowl. He served as head coach and general manager of the NFL Green Bay Packers from 1971-1974 before his arrival at Notre Dame in 1975.

    His Irish teams won the 1976 Gator Bowl, '78 Cotton Bowl and '79 Cotton Bowl - and his six seasons in South Bend produced a combined 53-16-1 mark (.764). His '77 team achieved notoriety when it switched from blue jerseys to green just prior to a noteworthy home win over fifth-ranked USC.

    Devine resigned prior to his final season in South Bend in 1980 and later became executive director of the Arizona State Sun Angel Foundation in Phoenix. In1992, Devine returned to Missouri as athletic director and then retired at the end of the 1993-94 academic year. He was elected into the National FootballFoundation College Football Hall of Fame in 1985 with an overall collegiatemark of 173-57-9. Born in Augusta, Wis., Devine (a Minnesota-Duluth graduate) died in 2002 at age 77.

    No TrackBacks

    TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/24985

    Leave a comment

    Recent Comments