125 Home

    Back to Academic Services Home

    Nine individuals from Notre Dame have received the prestigious BIG EAST Scholar Athlete of the Year Award (including three from women's soccer and two-time recepient Tim Abromaitis), awarded annually to one men's and one women's performer from one of the conference's schools:

    Kim Holden
    Shannon Mathews
    Jarrah Myers
    Grant Van De Casteele
    Adam Mena
    Tim Abromaitis
    BIG EAST Scholar Athletes of the Year (all sports)
    Jen Renola (1997) Women's Soccer (G)
    Pat Garrity (1998) Men's Basketball (F)
    Errol Williams (1998) Track and Field (Hurdles)
    Jenny Streiffer (2000) Women's Soccer (M/F)
    Ruth Riley (2001) Women's Basketball (C)
    Jarrah Myers (2002) Softball (3B/C)
    Vanessa Pruzinsky (2004) Women's Soccer (D)
    Tim Abromaitis (2010) Men's Basketball (F)
    Tim Abromaitis (2011) Men's Basketball (F)
    Tim Abromaitis (2012) Men's Basketball (F)
    Grant Van De Casteele (2012) Men's Soccer (F)

    BIG EAST Scholar Athletes of the Year (institutional recipients)
    2012 Grant Van De Casteele
    Soccer (D)*
    Kim Holden
    Swimming (Backstroke, Butterfly)
    2011 Adam Mena
    Soccer (MF/F)
    Shannon Mathews
    2010 John Lytle
    Cosmina Ciobanu
    2009 Matt Besler
    Soccer (D)
    Brittany Bock
    Soccer (F/MF)
    2008 Brett Lilley
    Baseball (SS)
    Caitlin McKinney
    Lacrosse (Attack)
    2007 Ted Brown
    Swimming (freestyle/butterfly)
    Meghan Murphy
    Lacrosse (Attack)
    2006 Patrick Davis
    Stephanie Madia
    Cross Country and Track (Distance)
    2005 Brent D'Amico
    Kerry Meagher
    Cross Country & Track (Distance)
    2004 Todd Mobley
    Cross Country/Track and Field (Distance)
    Vanessa Pruzinsky
    Soccer (D)
    2003 J.P. Gagne
    Baseball (RHP)
    Ashlee Warren
    2002 Marc Striowski
    Cross Country/Track and Field (Distance)
    Jarrah Myers
    Softball (3B/C)
    2001 Mike Naumann
    Baseball (LHP)
    Ruth Riley
    Basketball (C)
    2000 Ray Fitzpatrick
    Swimming (Sprints)
    Jenny Streiffer
    Soccer (F/MF)
    1999 Mike Brown
    Track and Field (Pole Vault)
    Shannon Boxx
    Soccer (M)
    1998 Errol Williams
    Track and Field (Hurdles)
    Jaimie Lee
    Volleyball (OH)
    1997 Jeff Hojnacki
    Cross Country/Track and Field (Distance)
    Jen Renola
    Soccer (G)
    1996 Jenna Knudson
    Softball (3B/OF)
    Mike Fleisch
    Track and Field (Shot Put)
    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast