• Meeting: 82nd
  • First Meeting: 1926
  • Series Record:
    Notre Dame leads, 42-34-5
  • Last Year: USC won 34-27
Notre Dame-USC Series History

• This rivalry began in 1926, when legendary Irish head coach Knute Rockne became the first Midwestern coach to take a team to the West Coast (Notre Dame won that game, 13-12) and the teams have meet every season since (taking 1943-45 off due to travel restrictions during World War II).
• Notre Dame has won eight Associated Press national titles while USC has won five.
• The Irish have been selected as a national champion by at least one legitimate poll in 19 seasons; USC lists 17 such campaigns.
• Notre Dame began the 2010 season second on the all-time winning percentage list and third in total victories. USC was not far behind in eighth and 10th place, respectively.
• Instantly recognizable coaches have stalked the sidelines for each team: Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy, Ara Parseghian, Dan Devine, Lou Holtz and Brian Kelly for Notre Dame and Howard Jones, John McKay, John Robinson, Pete Carroll and Lane Kiffin for USC.