March 13, 1998

Notre Dame Qualifies Maximum 10 Fencers for NCAA Championships

NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- Notre Dame's men and women's fencing team is one of the three schools to qualify 10 fenders for the NCAA championships which will be held at the Angela Athletic Facility at Saint Mary's College March 19-22. Schools can qualify no more than two fencers in each of the five weapons contested, men's epee, women's epee, men's foil, women's foil and men's sabre. Three-time defending champion Penn State and St. John's are the other two school to qualify 10 fencers to the NCAA championships.

The championship will consist of 24 fencers in each of the five weapons for a total of 120 fencers. A school's finish in the championship will be based on points earned by each individual. A team will be awarded one point for each victory by its fencers during the competition in which each fencer has 23 bouts against the rest of the field. Thirty schools will be represented with at least one fencer in the championships.

Notre Dame sophomore Magda Krol will look to defend the 1997 NCAA women's epee title she won as a freshman. She will headline the women's epee field after posting a 41-5 record and claiming her second straight Midwest women's epee championship. Junior Nicole Mustilli will make her first appearance in the NCAA championship for the Irish after compiling a 57-11 record in '98 and placing second at the Midwest fencing championships.

Two-time NCAA women's foilist runner-up and two-time All-American Sara Walsh will lead the Irish in women's foil. The Mishawaka, Ind., native, advanced to the finals in each of the last two years and finished the season with a 45-4 record. Teammate and fellow Mishawaka, Ind., native, Myriah Brown will join Walsh in the women's foil field. Brown, also a two-time All-American with a 49-4 '98 record, finished sixth in 1996 as a freshman and fifth in 1997 as a sophomore.

On the men's side, junior two-time All-American Luke LaValle and freshman Andrej Bednarski will fence in the men's sabre competition for the Irish. LaValle, 32-3 in '98, placed fifth and fourth at the NCAA championships in each of the last two years while Bednarski, a Granger, Ind., native, with a 43-9 record, finished second to LaValle at the Midwest fencing championships.

A pair of seniors, Carl Jackson and Brian Stone, will fence in the men's epee competition. Jackson, 28-8 this year, will be making his third appearance in the NCAA championships with his best result being a sixth-place finish as a freshman in 1995. Stone placed 13th a year ago at the NCAA championships in his first appearance and enters the championship on a roll after winning the Midwest epee championship and ending the regular season with a 32-9 record.

Junior Stephane Auriol and senior John Tejada round out Notre Dame's fencing entrants as the two men's foilists. A native of Elkhart, Ind., Auriol won the Midwest foil championship and finished with a 35-12 record this season. He will be making his second appearance in the NCAA championships after placing 16th a year ago. Tejada went 35-13 this year and has qualified for his first NCAA championship appearance.

1998 NCAA Fencing Championship Participants

Women's Foil
Zoe Hawes   Air Force
Susan Jennings  Columbia-Barnard
Erinn Smart Columbia-Barnard
Emily DeVilla   NYU 
Angela Hai  NYU 
Myriah Brown    Notre Dame      
Sara Walsh  Notre Dame
Yelena Kalkina  Ohio State
Patricia Szelle Ohio State  
Jagna Gromulska Pennsylvania
Margo Katz  Pennsylvania
Carla Esteva    Penn State
Claire Jackson  Penn State
Orsi Szotyovy   Princeton
Christina Orrico    Rutgers
Karen Moroney   St. John's
Karla Romanek   St. John's
Monique de Bruin    Stanford
Felicia Zimmermann  Stanford
Marissa Barnes-Hopkins  Temple
Jaime Beecher   Temple
Agata Wysiadecka    Wayne State
Hannah Appel    Yale
Kate Zuckerman  Yale
Women's Epee
Janet Wertz UC San Diego
Melinda Mellman Columbia-Barnard
Nancy Allen Cornell
Catie Webb  Fairleigh Dickinson
Christy Beckert NYU
Nancy Martin    NYU
Melanie Byrd    North Carolina
Michelle Schaffner  Northwestern
Magda Krol  Notre Dame
Nicole Mustilli Notre Dame
Kari Coley  Pennsylvania
Alexandra Korfanty  Penn State
Charlotte Walker    Penn State
Matilda Acerra  Princeton
Kristina Hurme  Princeton
Laura Cunningham    Rutgers
Nicole Dygert   St. John's
Raven Johnson   St. John's
Jessica Lisagor Stanford
Nelia Mann  Stanford
Gina DeTeso Temple
Marta Sciubisz  Wayne State
Whitney Anderson    Yale
Sharon Katz Yale
Men's Epee
Ryan Moon   Air Force
Aaron Waxler    Brandeis
Jesse Carlson   Cal- State Fullerton
Elie Gurarie    Case Western Reserve
Noah Zucker Columbia
Mike Gattnar    Harvard
Andrew Prihodko Harvard
Matt Coates MIT
Abe Berman  NYU
Josh Leslie NYU
Carl Jackson    Notre Dame
Brian Stone Notre Dame
Geoff Kane  Ohio State
Charles Hamann  Pennsylvania
John Wright Pennsylvania
Brendan Baby    Penn State
Tom Peng    Penn State
Marco Acerra    Princeton
Jason Burrell   Princeton
John Gringeri   Rutgers
George Hentea   St. John's
Alex Roythblat  St. John's
Tom Hunt    Stanford
Eric Tribbett   Stanford
Men's Sabre
James Steiner   Air Force
Luke Mountain   Boston College
Tim Morehouse   Brandeis
Jon Taqqu   Brown
Paolo Roselli   Cleveland State
Chaun Shaahid   Cleveland State 
Patrick Durkin  Columbia
Mark Bara   Detroit
Lee Scheffler   Harvard
Paul Palestis   NYU
Andrzej Bednarski   Notre Dame
Luke LaValle    Notre Dame
Michael Golia   Pennsylvania
Aaron Steuwe    Penn State
Michael Takagi  Penn State
Graham Brooks   Princeton
Maxim Pekarev   Princeton
Jeffrey Colella Rutgers
John Johnson    Rutgers
Walter Procek   St. John's
Keeth Smart St. John's
Sasha Zucker    Stanford
Mitsu Sudo  Yale
Taka Sudo   Yale
Men's Foil
Colin Clinton   Brandeis
Brian Sirlin    Brandeis
Ted Padgitt UC San Diego
Monty Tuominen  Cleveland State
Jed Dupree  Columbia
Dan Kellner Columbia
Robert Manchen  Duke
Brian Osserman  Harvard
Jeff Peyton Lawrence
Richard Menzi   NYU
Jason Wells North Carolina
Stephane Auriol Notre Dame
John Tejada Notre Dame
Cliff Bayer Pennsylvania
Yaron Roth  Pennsylvania
David Lidow Penn State
Gang Lu Penn State
Peter Rosen Princeton
Joel Mangum St. John's
John Tiomkin    St. John's
Tim Chang   Stanford
Alex Wood   Stanford
Peter Devine    Yale
Ayo Griffen Yale

Shop Now


Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats