Swimming & Diving

Historic Irish Season Culminates With Team Awards

May 14, 2018

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Capping a season that saw tremendous growth and achievement throughout the program, the University of Notre Dame swimming and diving team celebrated its accomplishments at its annual awards banquet in recognition of what was a stellar 2017-18 campaign. Freshman Zach Yeadon and sophomore Abbie Dolan were tabbed as Most Valuable Swimmers, while fifth-year senior Joe Coumos and sophomore Erin Isola were named the inaugural Divers of the Year to highlight individual award winners.

Notre Dame capped the 2017-18 competitive season with both the men’s and women’s teams ranked 19th in the final TYR/CSCAA Division I polls. The Irish women’s squad posted a 41st-place result at the 2018 NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships in Columbus, Ohio, while the Notre Dame men’s team posted a program-best finish of 23rd at the NCAA Championships in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Notre Dame had placed fourth and fifth in the men’s and women’s ACC Championship meets, respectively, prior to NCAA qualification.

Dolan earned team MVP honors for the first time in her career after continuing her emergence as a rising sophomore nationally. Dolan set Notre Dame records in the 100 freestyle (:48.36) and as a member of the 200 freestyle (1:28.81), 400 freestyle (3:14.65) and 800 freestyle (7:04.31) relay teams. She ranked 32nd in the NCAA in the 100 freestyle, 47th in the 200 freestyle (1:44.90) and 65th in the 50 freestyle (:22.44) individually, and was named the ACC Women’s ACC Swimmer of the Week on Oct. 10 (doubled as national swimmer of the week), Nov. 14 and Jan. 30. Dolan earned Honorable Mention All-America honors alongside the 15th-place Notre Dame 400 freestyle relay team at the NCAA Championships, and earned her second career citation on the ACC All-Academic Team.

Yeadon enjoyed a phenomenal freshman season that culminated in a fourth-place finish in the 1650 freestyle (14:35.98) at the NCAA Championships, which equaled the best finish ever by a Notre Dame men’s swimmer at the national meet and garnered First-Team All-America accolades. Yeadon set top Irish times in the 500 freestyle (4:12.74), 1000 freestyle (8:51.16) and 1650 freestyle (14:34.60) during his debut campaign, posting the seventh-fastest time in program history (1:36.12) in the 200 freestyle. He finished the year ranked fourth nationally in the 1650 freestyle, ninth with his 1000 freestyle split and 11th in the 500 freestyle. Along with earning runner-up honors in both the 500 freestyle and 1650 freestyle finals at the 2018 ACC Championships, Yeadon was named the ACC Men’s Swimmer of the Week on Oct. 10 (doubled as national swimmer of the week) and Jan. 30.

Coumos claimed Honorable Mention All-America plaudits for the first time to complete one of the most decorated diving careers in Notre Dame history, placing 14th at the NCAA Championships with a score of 325.70 points off the 1-meter board. Prior to advancing into the NCAA meet through zone qualifying, he nearly defended his 1-meter title at the ACC Championships with a gutsy runner-up score of 391.90 points. Coumos closed his collegiate career as a four-time NCAA Championships qualifier, a two-time ACC Championships finalist, the 2017 1-meter ACC champion, a two-time ACC All-Academic Team choice and the Notre Dame men’s record holder in both the 1-meter (420.00 points) and 3-meter (419.80 points) diving events.

Isola made her NCAA Championships debut and scored a 43rd-place finish with a score of 249.35 points. Isola captured her first NCAA berth by scoring 570.90 points to place sixth at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships in Columbus. She dove in 12 total meets during her sophomore season, placing first (301.80 points) off the 1-meter board at the Shamrock Invitational and adding a top placement (307.20 points) in the 3-meter dive in a tri-dual meet against Illinois and Iowa. Isola notched her first career top-10 finish at the ACC Championship by placing ninth off the 1-meter board in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Full Notre Dame team award winners from the 2017-18 season are as follows:

MVP Award

Abbie Dolan, Zach Yeadon
The MVP Award is selected by the coaches and awarded by the Monogram Club to team members judged to be most valuable in a given season.

Diver Of The Year Award

Erin Isola, Joe Coumos
The Diver of the Year Award is given to the diver who performs well on and off the boards and contributed to the overall team's success.

Golden Dumbbell Award

Kyra Sarazen
The Golden Dumbbell Award is awarded to a swimmer or diver who demonstrates consistent effort, improvement, and enthusiasm for the weight room for the betterment of themselves and their teammates.

Weight Room Warrior Award

Jack Russell
The Weight Room Warrior Award is awarded to a swimmer or diver who demonstrates consistent effort, improvement, and enthusiasm for the weight room for the betterment of themselves and their teammates.

Most Improved Award

Molly Treble, Aaron Schultz
The Most Improved Award is given to an athlete who has improved significantly throughout the season.

Beeler-Hipp Award

Carly Quast and Lindsay Stone, John Paul Becker
The Beeler-Hipp Award is given to a freshman who best exemplifies the vitality, competitiveness, and love for Notre Dame shown by Meghan Beeler and Colleen Hipp.

Patrick Reilly McManus Award

Rob Whitacre
The Patrick Reilly McManus Award, in memory of Patrick Reilly McManus, is given to the individual who performs well both in and out of the pool in pressure situations and best exemplifies the term teammate.

Blanchard Award

Justin Plaschka
The Blanchard Award is given to the swimmer or diver whose performance, leadership and lifestyle embody the personal qualities of former Notre Dame swimmer Charles Blanchard.

Fight For It Award

Nikki Smith, Sadler McKeen
The Fight For It Award is given to the swimmer or diver who best exemplifies a strong desire to fight for their teammates in and out of the pool.

Tim Welsh Award

Andrew Bartolini
The Tim Welsh Award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the Notre Dame swimming and diving program and has served the team with loyalty and enthusiasm.


Shop Now



Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats