Rosters Set For Blue-Gold Baseball Series

Oct. 14, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. - The Notre Dame baseball team will hold its annual Blue-Gold intrasquad series this weekend at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, 10:00 a.m. on Saturday and 10:00 a.m. on Sunday. All three games are open to the public, free-of-charge and will be played at Frank Eck Stadium.

The starting pitching rotations for the Blue and Gold squads are set. The Gold will use senior RHP Brian Dupra (Rochester, N.Y.), senior RHP Todd Miller (Franklin, Tenn.) and senior RHP Cole Johnson (Hudson, Ohio), while the Blue will counter with freshman RHP Sean Fitzgerald (McLean, Va.) and freshman LHP Anthony McIver (Vista, Calif.). The Blue have yet to announce its game three starter.

The Gold team is headlined by returning starting SS and captain Mick Doyle (LaGrange Park, Ill.). Junior RHP Will Hudgins (Richmond, Va.) will anchor its bullpen.

The rest of the Gold team includes: junior OF Alex Robinson (Dallas, Texas), senior OF Matt Grosso (Marlborough, Conn.), freshman INF/OF Brett Basilone (Springdale, Pa.), freshman INF Eric Jagielo (Downers Grove North, Ill.), senior C Matt Scioscia (Westlake Village, Calif.), freshman C Forrest Johnson (Hudson, Ohio), senior INF Herman Petzold (Saint Clair Shores, Mich.), sophomore C Ricky Palmer (Orland Park, Ill.), sophomore RHP Patrick Veerkamp (Fort Wayne, Ind.) and senior LHP Joe Spizzirri (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.).



The Blue team is headlined by returning starting INF Greg Sherry (Mendham, N.J.), sophomore INF Adam Norton (Highland, Ind.), sophomore INF Frank Desico (Cleveland, Ohio), sophomore C Joe Hudson (Odessa, Fla.) and senior C Cameron McConnell (Bannockburn, Ill.).

The rest of the Blue team includes: freshman INF/OF John Rodgers (Palm City, Fla.), freshman INF Chris Reinhart (Tampa, Fla.), junior INF Tommy Chase (Cohasset, Mass.), senior 1B David Casey (Whitefish Bay, Wisc.), sophomore OF Charlie Markson (Whitefish Bay, Wisc.), senior OF Ty Adams (Indianapolis, Ind.), freshman RHP Dan Slania (Tucson, Ariz.), freshman RHP Donnie Hissa (Iron River, Wisc.) and sophomore RHP Breck Ashdown (Tucson, Ariz.).

3   Trey Mancini      FR  1B      R/R   6-4/200   Winter Haven, FL/Winter Haven
6   Brian Dupra       SR  RHP     R/R   6-3/200   Rochester, NY/Greece Athena
7   Eric Jagielo      FR  INF     L/R   6-1/190   Downers Grove North, IL/Downers Grove North
8   Matt Grosso       SR  OF      L/L   5-10/175  Marlborough, CT/RHAM
10  Dustin Ispas      JR  LHP     L/L   6-1/190   Rancho Cucamonga, CA/Los Osos
12  Brett Basilone    FR  INF/OF  B/R   5-11/170  Springdale, PA/Springdale
13  Herman Petzold    SR  INF     R/R   5-8/175   Saint Clair Shores, MI/De LaSalle
14  Matt Scioscia     SR  C/1B    R/R   6-1/240   Westlake Village, CA/Encino Crespi Carmelite
19  Todd Miller       SR  RHP     R/R   6-3/200   Franklin, TN/Montgomery Bell Academy
23  Ryan Richter      JR  LHP     L/L   6-3/205   South Bend, IN/St. Joseph's
24  Patrick Veerkamp  SO  RHP     R/R   6-2/180   Fort Wayne, IN/Homestead
26  Mick Doyle        SR  INF     R/R   6-1/200   LaGrange Park, IL/Benet Academy
30  Forrest Johnson   FR  C       R/R   6-2/195   Hudson, OH/Hudson
32  Alex Robinson     JR  OF      B/R   6-0/170   Dallas, TX/First Baptist Academy
37  Cole Johnson      SR  RHP     R/R   6-3/200   Hudson, OH/Hudson
43  Joe Spizzirri     SR  LHP     L/L   6-2/185   San Juan Capistrano, CA/JSerra Catholic
45  Will Hudgins      JR  RHP     R/R   6-3/180   Richmond, VA/Douglas Freeman
--  Ricky Palmer      SO  C       R/R   6-0/185   Orland Park, IL/Brother Rice

BLUE ROSTER 1 Adam Norton SO RHP/INF R/R 6-1/175 Highland, IN/Andrean 2 John Rodgers FR INF/OF L/R 5-11/170 Palm City, FL/John Carroll Catholic 4 Joe Hudson SO C/INF R/R 6-1/190 Odessa, FL/Tampa Jesuit 5 Chris Reinhart FR INF R/R 6-1/195 Tampa, FL/Tampa Jesuit 11 Tommy Chase JR INF R/R 5-10/165 Cohasset, MA/Boston College 15 Greg Sherry SR INF R/R 5-10/180 Mendham, NJ/Delbarton 18 Sean Fitzgerald FR RHP R/R 6-2/170 McLean, VA/Mclean 20 Charlie Markson SO OF R/R 6-2/180 Whitefish Bay, WI/Whitefish Bay 21 Joe Spano JR LHP L/L 5-11/165 Verona, NJ/Seton Hall Prep 22 Anthony McIver FR LHP L/L 6-5/170 Vista, CA/Rancho Buena Vista 28 Cameron McConnell SR C R/R 6-1/205 Bannockburn, IL/Deerfield 33 Ty Adams SR 1B/OF R/R 6-6/225 Indianapolis, IN/Brebeuf Jesuit 35 Frank Desico SO INF R/R 5-10/185 Cleveland, OH/St. Ignatius 40 Dan Slania FR RHP R/R 6-5/225 Tucson, AZ/Salpointe Catholic 44 David Casey SR 1B/OF L/L 6-4/240 Whitefish Bay, WI/Whitefish Bay 51 Donnie Hissa FR RHP R/R 6-7/235 Iron River, WI/Maple Northwestern 52 Steve Sabatino JR LHP L/L 6-2/200 Lockport, IL/Lockport Township -- Breck Ashdown SO RHP/1B L/R 6-4/215 Tucson, AZ/Catalina Foothills

-- ND --

Shop Now

Auction: VIP Football Weekend vs. USC


Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats