125 Home
    Fighting Irish

    Sept. 12, 1997

    Notre Dame Unveils 1997-98 Basketball Schedule

    NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- The 1997-98 University of Notre Dame men's basketball team will play 16 games against schools that participated in postseason play last season. The Irish will meet six schools, and play seven games, against NCAA tournament teams from last year, and play nine games against five different teams that participated in the National Invitation Tournament.

    NCAA tournament teams on the Irish schedule include Marquette, Indiana, Villanova, Boston College, Providence and Georgetown (twice). NIT teams on the schedule are Pittsburgh, Connecticut, West Virginia, Miami (all twice) and Syracuse.

    Notre Dame opens the season on Sun., November 9, with an exhibition game against Athletes in Action at 7:30 p.m. EST in the Joyce Center and will also play an exhibition game on Tues., December 9, against Marathon.

    The Irish, who posted a 16-14 record last season en route to an appearance in the NIT quarterfinals, start the regular season on Mon., November 17, with a home game against the Citadel at 7:30 p.m. EST. The Notre Dame non-conference schedule is highlighted by game at Marquette (November 21) and Indiana (December 3).

    The BIG EAST Conference schedule for the Irish begins with a pair of December games with the Irish traveling to Pittsburgh on Sat., December 6 and a home game against St. John's on Tues., December 30.

    Notre Dame will make two appearances on NBC television this season: Sat., January 31 at St. John's and Sat., February 28 at Providence. The Irish will be televised by ESPN twice (Wed., January 21 vs. Syracuse and Wed., February 25 vs. Georgetown) and will appear on ESPN2 twice (Wed., December 3 vs. Indiana and Tues., February 17 vs. Connecticut).

    Notre Dame's television appearances on ESPN Regional, which include SportsChannel Chicago and WNDU-TV in South Bend, are still to be determined.

    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame

    SHOP NOW
    AT THE OFFICIAL
    FIGHTING IRISH STORE

      Xfinity St. Joseph's Medical Center Xerox Medifast