All-Time Head Coaches

1887-89, 92-93No head coaches5741.625
1894J. L. Morison1311.700
1895H. G. Hadden1310.750
1896-98Frank E. Hering31261.658
1899James McWeeney1631.650
1900-01Patrick O'Dea21442.750
1902-03James Faragher21422.833
1904Louis Salmon1530.625
1905Henry J. McGlew1540.556
1906-07Thomas Barry21211.893
1908Victor M. Place1810.889
1909-10Frank C. Longman21112.857
1911-12John L. Marks21302.933
1913-17Jesse C. Harper53451.863
1918-30Knute Rockne13105125*.881
1931-33Hunk Anderson31692.630
1934-40Elmer Layden747133.770
1941-43, 46-53Frank Leahy1187119*.855
1944Ed McKeever1820.800
1945; 1963Hugh Devore2991.500
1954-58Terry Brennan532180.640
1959-62Joe Kuharich417230.425
1964-74Ara Parseghian1195174.836
1975-80Dan Devine653161.764
1981-85Gerry Faust530261.535
1986-96Lou Holtz11100302.765
1997-2001Bob Davie535250.583
TOTALS   11278124742.750

* - The winning percentage of Knute Rockne and Frank Leahy rank one-two among all coaches according to NCAA figures, making them the two winningest coaches in college football history. Leahy's official NCAA mark is .864 on a 107-13-9 record that includes a 20-2 mark as Boston College head coach in 1939 and '40.

# - Ties computed as half won, half lost

Shop Now

Coming Soon!


Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats