Former Irish Star Bob Dove Selected To College Football Hall Of Fame

April 28, 2000

NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- Notre Dame two-time consensus football All-American Bob Dove is one of 14 individuals selected for induction to the National Football Foundation's College Hall of Fame for 2000.

Dove is one of 14 players and two coaches who will be officially inducted at the National Football Foundation's 43rd annual award dinner on Dec. 12, 2000, in New York City. Then the class will be enshrined at the College Hall of Fame in South Bend in August, 2001.

Dove becomes the 38th former Notre Dame player inducted -- with Notre Dame boasting more representatives (including five coaches) than any other school.

A three-year starter at end in 1940-42, Dove played on Frank Leahy's first two teams at Notre Dame and became the first sophomore to start for the Irish in 11 seasons. As a freshman in '39, he caught 15 passes for 187 yards from future Heisman Trophy winner Angelo Bertelli. He received the Knute Rockne Memorial Trophy in 1942 as the top collegiate lineman in the country and also played in the East-West Shrine All-Star game. He was a second-team selection on Street & Smith's All-Time Dream Team for the first 50 years of its publication from 1941-90.

A third-round draft pick by the Washington Redskins, the Youngstown, Ohio, native spent three years in the Marine Corps. He played nine seasons for several professional teams, earning Pro Bowl recognition in 1951.

He served as an assistant coach from 1969 through '86 for the Detroit Lions and Buffalo Bills and for the University of Detroit and Youngstown State. He currently resides in Canfield, Ohio.

Dove became the first player chosen by the Hall of Fame's Honors Review Committee, which considers players who played more than 50 years ago.

Joining Dove on the list of players to be inducted are Marcus Allen (USC), Kurt Burris (Oklahoma), Dan Dierdorf (Michigan), John Elway (Stanford), Michael Haynes (Arizona State), Terry Hoage (Georgia), Stan Jones (Maryland), Johnny Musso (Alabama), Johnny Rodgers (Nebraska), Joe Schmidt (Pittsburgh), Harley Sewell (Texas), Billy Ray Smith (Arkansas) and Eddie Talboom (Wyoming). The coaches named were Terry Donahue (UCLA) and Forest Evashevski (Hamilton, Washington State, Iowa).



Event Calendar


September 2
3:30 PM
Notre Dame, Ind.

September 9
7:30 PM
Notre Dame, Ind.

September 16
12:00 PM
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.

September 23
8:00 PM
Michigan State
East Lansing, Mich.

September 30
5:00 PM
Miami Ohio
Notre Dame, Ind.

October 7
North Carolina
Chapel Hill, N.C.

October 21
7:30 PM
Notre Dame, Ind.

October 28
3:30 PM
North Carolina State
Notre Dame, Ind.

November 4
3:30 PM
Wake Forest
Notre Dame, Ind.

November 11
Miami Fla.
Miami Gardens, Fla.

November 18
3:30 PM
Notre Dame, Ind.

November 25
Stanford, Calif.


Shop Now



Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

Photo Galleries


NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats