125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    Kyle Rudolph Named To Mackey Award Watch List

    FIGHTING IRISH Kyle Rudolph was the only sophomore among the 30 players selected to the Mackey Award watch list.
    Kyle Rudolph was the only sophomore among the 30 players selected to the Mackey Award watch list.

    July 29, 2009

    MANHASSET, N.Y. - University of Notre Dame sophomore tight end Kyle Rudolph (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder) has been named to the 2009 John Mackey Award watch list released today by the Nassau County Sports Commission. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, Rudolph is one of 30 players - and the only sophomore - placed on the watch list.

    Rudolph burst onto the scene in 2008 becoming the first Notre Dame tight end in school history to start every game in his freshman season. He set school records for a freshman by tallying 29 receptions for 340 yards and also scored two touchdowns.

    The 6-6, 260-pounder recorded a career-high five receptions versus Purdue for 70 yards and a TD. His season-long reception of 29 yards came in the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl against Hawaii and helped Rudolph establish a season-best 78 receiving yards on four catches.

    Rudolph enters 2009 atop the Notre Dame depth chart at tight end and is one of 10 returning starters on the Irish offense.

    The Mackey Award is named after NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey and has been presented since 2000. The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2009 award winner will be announced on Dec. 10, 2009.

    2009 John Mackey Award Watch List
    Player, Year, School
    Jeffrey Anderson, JR, UAB
    Jake Ballard, SR, Ohio State
    Greg Boone, SR, Virginia Tech
    Nate Byham, SR, Pittsburgh
    Jeff Cottam, SR, Tennessee
    Ed Dickson, SR, Oregon
    Richard Dickson, SR, LSU
    TC Drake, SR, Kentucky
    Charlie Gantt, JR, Michigan State
    Riar Geer, SR, Colorado
    Garrett Graham, SR, Wisconsin
    Jermaine Gresham, SR, Oklahoma
    Rob Gronkowski, JR, Arizona
    Aaron Hernandez, JR, Florida
    Mike Hoomanawanui, SR, Illinois
    Blaine Irby, JR, Texas
    Jeron Mastrud, SR, Kansas St
    Anthony McCoy, SR, USC
    Mike McNeil, JR, Nebraska
    Tony Moeaki, SR, Iowa
    Ryan Moya, SR, UCLA
    Logan Paulsen, SR, UCLA
    Dennis Pitta, SR, BYU
    Andrew Quarless, JR, Penn St
    Kyle Rudolph, SO, Notre Dame
    Weslye Saunders, JR, South Carolina
    Cody Slate, JR, Marshall
    Tommy Trott, SR, Auburn
    DJ Williams, JR, Arkansas
    Ben Wooster, SR, Wake Forest



    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast