125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    Jimmy Clausen Named To O'Brien Award Watch List

    FIGHTING IRISH Junior Jimmy Clausen.
    Junior Jimmy Clausen.

    Aug. 3, 2009

    J. Clausen 2008 Highlights

    FORT WORTH, Texas - University of Notre Dame junior quarterback Jimmy Clausen has been named to the 2009 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List released today by the Davey O'Brien Foundation. The O'Brien Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

    Clausen (Westlake Village, Calif./Oaks Christian) has started 22 of the 23 games he has played over his Irish career. He already ranks among the top 10 all-time in the following career passing categories: second in passing yards per game (192.4), second in completion percentage (59.3), fourth in completions (406), fifth in attempts (685), fifth in TD passes (32) and sixth in passing yards (4,426).

    As a sophomore in 2008, Clausen started all 13 games at quarterback and recorded the third-most prolific passing season in Irish history. He completed 268 of his 440 pass attempts (60.9 pct) for 3,172 passing yards (244.0 yards per game). Clausen tossed 25 touchdowns and established records in every major passing category by a Notre Dame sophomore quarterback. The only better statistical seasons by an Irish signal caller were Brady Quinn in 2005 and 2006. Clausen ranked 43rd in passing efficiency nationally at 132.49 and ranked 40th in total offense at 238.38 yards per game.

    Clausen closed last season with his best performance in a Notre Dame uniform. He completed 22 of 26 passes for 401 yards and five TDs without an interception against Hawai'i in the Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl. Clausen set individual career bests in completion percentage (84.6 percent), passing yards (401) and TD passes (five). His statistics also helped set Notre Dame team bowl records in points (49), passing yards (413), passing touchdowns (five) and total yards (478). Clausen's passing yards, passing touchdowns and completion percentage were also Notre Dame individual bowl records. In fact, his completion percentage was the second best by any quarterback at any school in bowl game history.

    The 2009 O'Brien Award Watch List highlights 33 quarterbacks who will compete for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback; however, all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) starting quarterbacks are equal candidates at this time. Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of The O'Brien Selection Committee. The list focuses on a select group of quarterbacks who have demonstrated what members of the Selection Committee have recognized as tremendous preseason talent. The award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field.

    The O'Brien will follow performances of all FBS quarterbacks until Semifinalists are selected in late October. Semifinalists will be announced October 26; Finalists November 23; and the Winner December 10. During all rounds of voting, The O'Brien Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

    Today marked the first time in the award's history the Watch List was announced on ESPN's College Football Live. The 2009 O'Brien Winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10. The recipient will be honored February 15, 2010 at the 33rd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

    About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
    The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. Founded in 1981, The O'Brien seeks to honor candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship, leadership and character in both the athletic and academic arenas. Honorees are voted on by a national selection committee comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $790,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

    National College Football Awards Association
    The O'Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site, www.NCFAA.org.

    2009 O'Brien Watch List:

    Sam Bradford      Oklahoma           JR
    Jarrett Brown     West Virginia      SR
    Daryll Clark      Penn State         SR
    Jimmy Clausen     Notre Dame         JR
    Aaron Corp        USC                SO
    Robert Griffin    Baylor             SO
    Matt Grothe       South Florida      SR
    Max Hall          BYU                SR
    Tim Hiller        Western Michigan   SR
    Jordan Jefferson  LSU                SO
    Colin Kaepernick  Nevada             JR
    Case Keenum       Houston            JR
    Dan LeFevour      Central Michigan   SR
    Jake Locker       Washington         JR
    Ryan Mallett      Arkansas           SO
    Jeremiah Masoli   Oregon             JR
    Colt McCoy	  Texas              SR
    Kellen Moore      Boise State        SO
    Josh Nesbitt      Georgia Tech       JR
    Tony Pike         Cincinnati         SR
    Taylor Potts      Texas Tech         JR
    Terrelle Pryor    Ohio State         SO
    Todd Reesing      Kansas             SR
    Kevin Riley       California         JR
    Zac Robinson      Oklahoma State     SR
    Riley Skinner     Wake Forest        SR
    Rusty Smith       Florida Atlantic   SR
    Jevan Snead       Ole Miss           JR
    Tyrod Taylor      Virginia Tech      JR
    Tim Tebow         Florida            SR
    Adam Weber        Minnesota          JR
    Juice Williams    Illinois           SR
    Russell Wilson    NC State           SO
    -- ND --


    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast