Lewis-Moore, Johnson Named Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award Candidates

Senior DE Kapron Lewis-Moore

Aug. 9, 2011

NOTRE DAME, Ind. - Notre Dame's senior DE tandem of Kapron Lewis-Moore and Ethan Johnson were named preseason candidates for the 2011 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award on Tuesday. Lewis-Moore and Johnson are one of three sets of teammates to appear on the list of 35 student-athletes.

Johnson (Portland, Ore./Lincoln) has played in all 38 games over his Notre Dame career and started 28 contests, including all 13 in 2010. He has totaled 83 tackles, including 17.5 tackles for loss and 12.5 sacks. Among active Irish players, Johnson leads in sacks and also ranks second in tackles for loss, second in tackles for loss yardage and second in sacks yardage. He has added five pass breakups, three fumble recoveries and one forced fumble. In 2010, Johnson was one of 11 players to start all 13 games for the Irish. He registered 34 tackles, including 6.0 tackles for loss (21 yards), 5.0 of which were for sacks (19 yards). Johnson ranked second on the team in sacks and fourth in tackles for loss.

Lewis-Moore (Weatherford, Texas/Weatherford) has seen action in 25 games over his Notre Dame career and made 22 starts, including all 13 in 2010. He has totaled 108 career tackles, most of any Irish defensive lineman, including 9.5 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks. Johnson has added two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and one pass breakup. In 2010, Lewis-Moore was one of 11 players to start all 13 games for the Irish. He recorded 62 tackles, which ranked first among defensive linemen and fifth on the team. Lewis-Moore registered 20 solo and 42 assisted stops. He added 2.5 tackles for loss (19 yards) and 2.0 sacks (19 yards).

Now in its 10th season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Hendricks used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.



On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End.

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 - Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 - David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 - Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 - LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 - Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 - Brian Orakpo (Texas), 2009 - Jerry Hughes (TCU) and 2010 - Da'Quan Bowers (Clemson).

2011 Watch List Selections
Frank Alexander, Oklahoma
Cordarro Law, Southern Miss
Jake Bequette, Arkansas
Kapron Lewis-Moore, Notre Dame
Broderick Binns, Iowa
Brandon Lindsey, Pittsburgh
Andre Branch, Clemson
Stansly Maponga, TCU
Vince Browne, Northwestern
Jonathan Massaquoi, Troy
Quinton Coples, North Carolina
Shea McClellin, Boise State
Jack Crawford, Penn State
Cameron Meredith, Nebraska
Izaan Cross, Georgia Tech
Alex Okafor, Texas
Vinny Curry, Marshall
Donte Paige-Moss, North Carolina
Cory Dorris, Tulsa
Nick Perry, USC
Brandon Harold, Kansas State
Jacquies Smith, Missouri
Wes Horton, USC
Devin Taylor, South Carolina
Bruce Irvin, West Virginia
Taylor Thompson, SMU
Brandon Jenkins, Florida State
DeAngelo Tyson, Georgia
Cam Johnson, Virginia
Ryan Van Bergen, Michigan
Ethan Johnson, Notre Dame
Olivier Vernon, Miami
Datone Jones, UCLA
Nathan Williams, Ohio State

-- ND --

Shop Now

Auction: VIP Football Weekend vs. USC


Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats