Sam Young Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

Aug. 11, 2009

DALLAS - University of Notre Dame senior offensive tackle Sam Young is one of 40 players on the "Watch List" for the 2009 Outland Trophy, which recognizes the nation's top interior lineman, the Football Writers Association of America announced Tuesday.

Young (Coral Springs, Fla./St. Thomas Aquinas) is Notre Dame's top returning offensive lineman and enters his final season with the possibility of setting the school record for most starts in a career. He has started all 38 games of his career and is the only Notre Dame offensive lineman to have ever started every game since his freshman year. Young became the first Irish offensive lineman to make his debut as a freshman in the season opener since freshmen regained eligibility in 1972. He has started 28 games at right tackle and 10 more games at left tackle.

In early October, the FWAA will consider other players for the 2009 Outland Trophy Watch List when most teams have completed four games of play. Sports Information Directors will be asked to contact their conference's representative on the 2009 All-America Committee and copy the FWAA office with the nominated player.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10 in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 14 in Omaha, Neb.

2009 Outland Trophy Watch List:

Jon Asamoah, Illinois, G                 Kristofer O'Dowd, USC, C
Geno Atkins, Georgia, DT                 Jared Odrick, Penn State, DT
Zane Beadles, Utah, OL                   Vince Oghobaase, Duke, DT
Ciron Black, LSU , OT                    Russell Okung, Oklahoma State, OT
Bryan Bulaga, Iowa, OT                   Jeff Owens, Georgia, DT
Jeff Byers, USC, G                       Mike Pouncey, Florida, OL
Brandon Carter, Texas Tech, G            Maurkice Pouncey, Florida, C
Nick Charles, Air Force, G               Brian Price, UCLA, DT
Terrence Cody, Alabama, DT               Sergio Render, Virginia Tech, G
Anthony Davis, Rutgers, OT               Boo Robinson, Wake Forest, NG
Chris Fisher, Louisiana-Lafayette, C     Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas, DT
Kurtis Gregory, Missouri, G              D'Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech, DT
Chris Hall, Texas, C                     Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, DT
Mike Iupati, Idaho, OL                   Matt Tennant, Boston College, C
John Jerry, Ole Miss, OT                 Torrell Troup, UCF, DT
Mike Johnson, Alabama, OL                Adam Ulatoski, Texas, OT
Arthur Jones, Syracuse, DT               J.D. Walton, Baylor, C
Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma, DT               Trent Williams, Oklahoma, OT
Josh McNeil, Tennessee, C                Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State, C
Andre Neblett, Temple, NT                Sam Young, Notre Dame, OT

-- ND --


Shop Now


Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats