125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    Football's Tony Fisher Named 2000 Doak Walker Award Candidate

    FIGHTING IRISH Junior tailback Tony Fisher is one of 35 candidates for the Doak Walker Award given to the nation's top running back.
    Junior tailback Tony Fisher is one of 35 candidates for the Doak Walker Award given to the nation's top running back.

    Aug. 22, 2000

    Notre Dame, Ind. - Notre Dame junior tailback Tony Fisher (Euclid, Ohio) is one of 35 candidates for the 2000 Doak Walker Award presented by Vectrix. The award is given annually to the nation's top college running back by the Southwestern Bell-SMU Athletic Forum in Dallas.

    The 6-2, 225 pounder finished the 1999 season as Notre Dame's leading rusher, running up 783 yards on 156 carries, an average of 5.0 yards a carry. Fisher also was fourth on the team in receiving, averaging 16.4 yards a reception. Fisher was a member of Football News' all-Independent team in '99 and was named NBC Sports/Chevrolet Notre Dame MVP for his efforts against Kansas.

    The Southwestern Bell Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on November 8, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote on the winner in late November. The National Selection Committee consists of former All-Pro and All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

    The winner will be announced live on ESPN's College Football Awards Show Thursday, Dec. 7. The presentation banquet will be January 31, 2001, at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas.

    Last season, former Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne won the award after becoming the NCAA's career rushing leader with 6,397 yards.

    Fisher joins an impressive list of candidates from around the country including Maryland senior LaMont Jones, the nation's leading returning rusher with 3,227 career yards, TCU senior LaDainian Tomlinson, who was tops among Division I-A runners in 1999 with 1,850 yards and Texas senior Hodges Mitchell, a 1999 Doak Walker Award finalist.

    2000 Doak Walker Award Candidates

    Jonathan Adams, Jr., Arkansas State
    Dan Alexander, Sr., Nebraska
    David Allen, Sr., Kansas State
    Damien Anderson, Sr., Northwestern
    Ladell Betts, Sr., Iowa
    Deon Burnett, So., Washington State
    Cedric Cobbs, So., Arkansas
    Avon Coburne, So., Iowa State
    Tony Fisher, Jr., Notre Dame
    Delvon Flowers, Sr., Arizona State
    Travis Henry, Sr., Tennessee
    Joe Igber, So., Cal-Berkeley
    James Jackson, Sr., Miami
    Cortlen Johnson, Jr., Colorado
    LaMont Jordan, Sr., Maryland
    Montrell Lowe, So., Purdue
    Deuce McAllister, Jr., Mississippi
    Scotty McKay, Sr., Air Force
    Travis Minor, Sr., Florida State
    Hodges Mitchell, Sr., Texas
    Larry Ned, Sr., San Diego State
    Derrick Nix, So., Southern Mississippi
    Brandon Payne, So., Akron
    Ray Robinson, Jr., North Carolina State
    Robert Sanford, Sr., Western Michigan
    Ken Simonton, Jr., Oregon State
    Chester Taylor, Sr., Toledo
    Anthony Thomas, Sr., Michigan
    LaDainian Tomlinson, Sr., TCU
    Cedric Washington, Boston College
    Avion Weaver, Sr., Hawaii
    Deonce Whitaker, Sr., San Jose State
    Ja'Quay Wilburn, Sr., North Texas
    Ricky Williams, Sr., Texas Tech
    Jamie Wilson, Sr., East Carolina


    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast