125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    Bennett Jackson, TJ Jones and Zack Martin Named Captains

    TJ Jones

    Aug 23, 2013

    NOTRE DAME, Ind. - Senior cornerback Bennett Jackson, senior wide receiver TJ Jones and graduate student offensive tackle Zack Martin have been named captains for the 2013 Notre Dame football team.

    Martin and Jones will captain the offense, while Jackson was selected as the defensive captain.

    Martin (Indianapolis, Ind./Bishop Chatard) becomes the 18th two-time captain in Irish football history and first since Maurice Crum, Jr. in 2007-08. He has started all 39 games for Notre Dame at left tackle over the last three seasons. A second-team All-American in 2012 and three-time Irish offensive lineman of the year, Martin could set a school record for career starts with 13 more this season. He was named to the Outland Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award watch list earlier this summer.

    Jones (Roswell, Ga./Gainesville) is a Biletnikoff Award watch list nominee for the third straight season. In 2012, he tied for team-high honors in both receptions and receiving touchdowns, and also ranked second in receiving yards. Jones caught 50 passes for 649 yards and registered four touchdowns last year. He collected a career-high seven receptions for 90 yards vs. Alabama in the '13 BCS National Championship Game. Jones added touchdown grabs against Purdue, Boston College, Wake Forest and Stanford. The TD catch against the Cardinal proved to the difference in the Irish overtime victory.

    Jackson (Hazlet, N.J./Raritan), a 2013 Bednarik Award watch list selection, started all 13 games at cornerback in 2012. He ranked third on the Irish with 65 tackles, trailing only Manti Te'o and Zeke Motta. Jackson recorded 45 solo stops and collected four interceptions in his first year as a starting cornerback. He tied for 39th in the FBS in interceptions (0.31/game). Jackson, who played wide receiver in high school before moving to cornerback in 2011, led an Irish pass defense in '12 that ranked second in the country in fewest passing yards/completion (9.95) and tied for sixth in the nation in fewest passing touchdowns (10).

    Number of players who have been named football captains at Notre Dame: 196 with the addition of Zack Martin, TJ Jones and Bennett Jackson

    Two-time captains: Edward Prudhomme (1888-89); Frank Keough (1893-94); Louis "Red" Salmon (1902-03); Leonard Bahan (1918-19); Pat Filley (1943-44); Bob Olson (1968-69); Willie Fry (1976-77); Bob Crable (1980-81); Phil Carter (1981-82); Ned Bolcar (1988-89); Ryan Leahy (1994-95); Ron Powlus (1996-97); Grant Irons (2000-01); Brady Quinn (2005-06); Tom Zbikowski (2006-07); Travis Thomas (2006-07); Maurice Crum, Jr. (2007-08); Zack Martin (2012-13)

    1887: Henry Luhn
    1888: Edward Prudhomme
    1889: Edward Prudhomme
    1892: Pat Coady
    1893: Frank Keough
    1894: Frank Keough
    1895: Dan Casey
    1896: Frank E. Hering
    1897: Jack Mullen
    1898: Jack Mullen
    1899: Jack Mullen
    1900: John Farley
    1901: Al Fortin
    1902: Louis (Red) Salmon
    1903: Louis (Red) Salmon
    1904: Frank Shaughnessy
    1905: Pat Beacom
    1906: Bob Bracken
    1907: Dom Callicrate
    1908: Harry Miller
    1909: Howard Edwards
    1910: Ralph Dimmick
    1911: Luke Kelly
    1912: Charles (Gus) Dorais
    1913: Knute Rockne
    1914: Keith Jones
    1915: Freeman Fitzgerald
    1916: Stan Cofall
    1917: Jim Phelan
    1918: Leonard Bahan
    1919: Leonard Bahan
    1920: Frank Coughlin
    1921: Eddie Anderson
    1922: Glen Carberry
    1923: Harvey Brown
    1924: Adam Walsh
    1925: Clem Crowe
    1926: Gene Edwards, Tom Hearden
    1927: John Smith
    1928: Fred Miller
    1929: John Law
    1930: Tom Conley
    1931: Tommy Yar
    1932: Paul Host
    1933: Hugh Devore, Tom Gorman
    1934: Dom Vairo
    1935: Joe Sullivan
    1936: Bill Smith, John Lautar
    1937: Joe Zwers
    1938: Jim McGoldrick
    1939: Johnny Kelly
    1940: Milt Piepul
    1941: Paul Lillis
    1942: George Murphy
    1943: Pat Filley
    1944: Pat Filley
    1945: Frank Dancewicz
    1947: George Connor
    1948: Bill Fischer
    1949: Leon Hart, Jim Martin
    1950: Jerry Groom
    1951: Jim Mutscheller
    1952: Jack Alessandrini
    1953: Don Penza
    1954: Paul Matz, Dan Shannon
    1955: Ray Lemek
    1956: Jim Morse
    1957: Dick Prendergast, Ed Sullivan
    1958: Al Ecuyer, Chuck Puntillo
    1959: Ken Adamson
    1960: Myron Pottios
    1961: Norb Roy, Nick Buoniconti
    1962: Mike Lind
    1963: Bob Lehmann
    1964: Jim Carroll
    1965: Phil Sheridan
    1966: Jim Lynch
    1967: Bob (Rocky) Bleier
    1968: George Kunz, Bob Olson
    1969: Bob Olson, Mike Oriard
    1970: Larry DiNardo, Tim Kelly
    1971: Walt Patulski, Tom Gatewood
    1972: John Dampeer, Greg Marx
    1973: Dave Casper, Frank Pomerico, Mike Townsend
    1974: Tom Clements, Greg Collins
    1975: Ed Bauer, Jim Stock
    1976: Mark McLane, Willie Fry
    1977: Ross Browner, Terry Eurick, Willie Fry, Steve Orsini
    1978: Bob Golic, Jerome Heavens, Joe Montana
    1979: Vagas Ferguson, Tim Foley, Dave Waymer
    1980: Bob Crable, Tom Gibbons, John Scully
    1981: Bob Crable, Phil Carter
    1982: Phil Carter, Dave Duerson, Mark Zavagnin
    1983: Blair Kiel, Stacey Toran
    1984: Mike Golic, Joe Johnson, Larry Williams
    1985: Tony Furjanic, Mike Larkin, Allen Pinkett, Tim Scannell
    1986: Mike Kovaleski
    1987: Chuck Lanza, Byron Spruell
    1988: Ned Bolcar, Mark Green, Andy Heck
    1989: Ned Bolcar, Anthony Johnson, Tony Rice
    1990: Mike Heldt, Todd Lyght, Ricky Watters, Chris Zorich
    1991: Rodney Culver
    1992: Demetrius DuBose, Rick Mirer
    1993: Jeff Burris, Tim Ruddy, Aaron Taylor, Bryant Young
    1994: Lee Becton, Justin Goheen, Brian Hamilton, Ryan Leahy
    1995: Paul Grasmanis, Ryan Leahy, Derrick Mayes, Shawn Wooden, Dusty Zeigler
    1996: Lyron Cobbins, Marc Edwards, Ron Powlus
    1997: Melvin Dansby, Ron Powlus, Allen Rossum
    1998: Bobbie Howard, Kory Minor, Mike Rosenthal
    1999: Jarious Jackson
    2000: Anthony Denman, Jabari Holloway, Grant Irons, Dan O'Leary
    2001: Rocky Boiman, David Givens, Grant Irons, Anthony Weaver
    2002: Arnaz Battle, Sean Mahan, Gerome Sapp, Shane Walton
    2003: Darrell Campbell, Vontez Duff, Omar Jenkins, Jim Molinaro
    2004: Mike Goolsby, Ryan Grant, Carlyle Holiday, Justin Tuck
    2005: Brady Quinn, Brandon Hoyte
    2006: Brady Quinn, Tom Zbikowski, Travis Thomas
    2007: Tom Zbikowski, Travis Thomas, John Carlson, John Sullivan, Maurice Crum Jr.
    2008: David Bruton, Maurice Crum Jr., David Grimes
    2009: Jimmy Clausen, Kyle McCarthy, Eric Olsen, Scott Smith
    2010: Game-by-Game
    2011: Harrison Smith
    2012: Manti Te'o, Kapron Lewis-Moore, Zack Martin, Tyler Eifert
    2013: Zack Martin, TJ Jones, Bennett Jackson



    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast