125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    Football's Anthony Denman Named 2000 Butkus Award Candidate



    Aug. 28, 2000

    Notre Dame, Ind. - Notre Dame senior inside linebacker Anthony Denman (Rusk, Texas) is one of 70 candidates for the 2000 Butkus Award presented by Cooper Tire. The award is given annually to the nation's best collegiate linebacker by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando.

    The 6-2, 235-pounder led the Irish with 59 solo tackles a season ago and also had three fumble recoveries. Denman was Notre Dame's leading tackler in six games a year ago. Denman was a member of Football News' all-Independent team last year and was named NBC Sports/Chevrolet Notre Dame MVP for his efforts against Michigan State.

    The independent selection committee, comprised of 28 of the nation's foremost media members, begins reviewing the candidates this week and more players may be added to the watch list. The committee will select 10 semifinalists on Oct. 19. Subsequently, the three finalists will be announced on Nov. 9, at Spectator's Sports Bar at the Downtown Marriott Orlando. The 2000 Butkus Award winner will be announced Friday, Dec. 8, during the Butkus Award Gala at Hard Rock Live at Universal Studios CityWalk.

    Last season, former Penn State linebacker LaVar Arrington won the award before becoming the second selection in the NFL draft. Former Butkus Award winners include Trev Alberts (1993-Nebraska), Percy Snow (1989-Michigan State) and Derrick Thomas (1988-Alabama).

    Denman joins an impressive list of candidates from around the country including North Carolina's Brandon Spoon, who is the first player in the 16-year history of the Butkus Award to be named to the watch list four years in a row. Miami's Dan Morgan and Virginia's Byron Thweatt are both on the watch list for the third time their careers.

    2000 Butkus Award Watch List

    Keith Adams, Clemson
    Brian Allen, Florida State
    Adam Archulta, Arizona State
    Akin Ayodele, Purdue
    Boss Bailey, Georgia
    Kendrell Bell, Georgia
    Kevin Bentley, Northwestern
    Eric Brackins, Michigan
    Shannon Brazell, TCU
    Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
    Quenton Carver, Arkansas
    Patrick Chukwurah, Wyoming
    Rick Crowell, Colorado State
    Derrell Daniels, Washington
    Andra Davis, Florida
    Anthony Denman, Notre Dame
    Justin Ena, BYU
    Treverance Faulk, LSU
    Larry Foote, Michigan
    Jason Glenn, Texas A&M
    Ryan Gonsales, Pittsburgh
    Morlon Greenwood, Syracuse
    Pernell Griffin, East Carolina
    Sean Hoffman, Minnesota
    Orlando Huff, Fresno State
    Bradie James, LSU
    Riall Johnson, Stanford
    Ben Leber, Kansas State
    De'Andre Lewis, Texas
    Jason Loezel, Purdue
    Vassay Marc, South Florida
    Torrence Marshall, Oklahoma
    Ben Mezera, Minnesota
    Marion Moore, Maryland
    Zeke Moreno, USC
    Dan Morgan, Miami
    Ryan Nece, UCLA
    Kautai Oleavo, Utah
    Brent Passay, Utah State
    Jeremiah Pharms, Washington
    Jerry Phillips, Tulane
    Kenny Philpott, Eastern Michigan
    Carlos Polk, Nebraska
    Tommy Polley, Florida State
    Saleem Rasheed, Alabama
    Darnell Robinson, Oregon State
    Jamonte Robinson, Missouri
    Wayne Rogers, Houston
    Kevin Rollins, Toledo
    Cameron Saulsby, Northern Illinois
    Kamal Shakir, Memphis
    Tim Skipper, Fresno State
    Justin Smith, Indiana
    Matt Smith, Oregon
    Brandon Spoon, North Carolina
    Markus Steele, USC
    Eddie Strong, Mississippi
    Taylor Suman, Temple
    Jashon Sykes, Colorado
    LeVar Talley, Temple
    Ben Taylor, Virginia Tech
    Robert Thomas, UCLA
    Byron Thweatt, Virginia
    TJ Turner, Michigan State
    Lyle Weaver, Army
    Eric Westmoreland, Tennessee
    Clayton White, NC State
    Jamie Winborn, Vanderbilt
    Max Yates, Marshall
    Michael Young, Illinois



    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast