125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    Max Scodro Named PING All-Midwest Region Selection For Second Straight Year

    FIGHTING IRISH Max Scodro earned his second straight selection to the PING All-Midwest Region team.
    Max Scodro earned his second straight selection to the PING All-Midwest Region team.

    May 31, 2012

    NOTRE DAME, Ind. - For the second consecutive year, University of Notre Dame men's golf senior Max Scodro has been named a PING All-Midwest Region selection as chosen by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

    Scodro represents the third different Irish golfer to be named to the All-Midwest Region team and is only the second in program history to have earned multiple trips to the list, joining three-time selection Cole Isban ('05-'07). All told, Scodro is one of 155 golfers selected to PING all-region teams across six different regional locations - Northeast, East, Southeast, Midwest, Central and West.

    The Chicago, Ill., product joins 24 other golfers on the All-Midwest Region team, which is based upon the players finish in the Individual Ranking System (maintained by the GCAA). Scodro also represents one of only two BIG EAST selections to the All-Midwest Region team, joining Louisville's Justin Dorward in receiving the honor.

    Scodro earned the recognition after putting together the best stroke-average season in Notre Dame program history, finishing at 71.25. The 2012 BIG EAST Player of the Year, Scodro also improved his career stroke average to a program-best 73.25 while recording seven top-10 and four top-five finishes on the campaign.

    Scodro, who earned his fourth selection to the all-BIG EAST team this season, also recorded 20 rounds of even-par golf or better on the year, including 10 of those rounds breaking 70. He finished the season ranked 46th and 47th in the nation according to Golfweek and Golfstat, respectively, and claimed the 2012 BIG EAST Individual Championship for the second consecutive season.

    2012 PING All-Midwest Region Selections:
    Chris Brant, Iowa
    Charlie Bull, Akron
    Eric Chun, Northwestern
    Corey Conners, Kent State
    Justin Dorward, Louisville
    Tyler Duncan, Purdue
    Dan Ellis, Michigan State
    Luke Guthrie, Illinois
    Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State
    Steven Ihm, Iowa
    Mason Jacobs, Illinois
    Barrett Kelpin, Iowa
    Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
    Tyler Merkel, Ball State
    Kevin Miller, Kent State
    David Mills, Indiana
    Taylor Pendrith, Kent State
    Jack Perry, Northwestern
    Thomas Pieters, Illinois
    Alex Redfield, Ohio State
    Max Scodro, Notre Dame
    Matt Thompson, Michigan
    Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
    Ian Vandersee, Iowa
    Chase Wright, Indiana



    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast