Men's Golf

Scodro Named To PING All-Midwest Region Team

Max Scodro, the BIG EAST Championship individual medalist and BIG EAST Player of the Year, becomes the fifth Irish player to be named to the PING All-Midwest Region Team.

June 1, 2011

NOTRE DAME, Ind. - Notre Dame junior Max Scodro (Chicago, Ill.) has been selected for the 2011 PING All-Midwest Region Team, it was announced Tuesday by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). Scodro is the fifth Irish golfer to receive the honor and the first since Josh Sandman was honored in 2008.

All told, 152 golfers were selected to the PING all-region teams across six regions - Northeast, East, Southeast, Midwest, Central and West. Scodro joins 24 other golfers in being selected to the '11 all-Midwest Region Team, which is based upon the players finish in the Individual Ranking System (maintained by the GCAA). Scodro also is the lone BIG EAST golfer to make the all-Midwest Region Team, while nine BIG EAST players were named to the all-Northeast squad, led by Villanova with three selections.

Scodro enjoyed his finest season to-date with the Irish program in '11, ending the year with a career-best stroke average of 73.30 that goes down as the sixth-best single-season mark in school history. A six-time top-10 individual finisher last season, Scodro also became the first Irish golfer to be named BIG EAST Player of the Year on the heels of claiming medalist honors at the BIG EAST Championship. Along with also earning all-BIG EAST honors for the third straight year, Scodro helped lead the Irish back to NCAA regional play, finishing ninth among the 14 teams in the NCAA Southeast Regional.

Scodro returns for his final season in 2011-12 with the school's third-best career stroke average (73.99). He joins fellow rising seniors Tom Usher and Chris Walker in hopes of building off of a successful year in 2010-11.

2011 PING All-Midwest Region Team
Chris Brant, Iowa
Cameron Carrico, Murray State
Eric Chun, Northwestern
Donald Constable, Minnesota
Chris DeForest, Illinois
David Erdy, Indiana
Joey Garber, Michigan
Luke Guthrie, Illinois
John Hahn, Kent State
Bo Hoag, Ohio State
Brad Hopfinger, Iowa
Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State
Vince India, Iowa
Lion Kim, Michigan
Scott Langley, Illinois
David Lipsky, Northwestern
Adam Schenk, Purdue
Max Scodro, Notre Dame
William Sjaichudin, Purdue
Brad Smith, Ohio State
Eric Steger, Ball State
Nathan Sutherland, Miami
Matt Thompson, Michigan
Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
Chase Wright, Indiana



Shop Now

Game-Used Football Auction


Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats