Ice Hockey

Kevin Deeth Named Notre Dame Hockey's Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

March 9, 2010

Farmington Hills, Mich. - Notre Dame hockey forward Kevin Deeth (Sr., Gig Harbor, Wash.) is one of 12 CCHA hockey players to be named their team's 2009-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year. From this group of players, the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) will name its 2010 Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Thursday, March 18 at the 2010 CCHA Awards, presented by RBC Financial Group at the Fox Theatre in Detroit, Mich.

Joining Deeth on the list of nominees are:

Name Class Position Team Major Dion Knelsen Sr. Forward Alaska Business Administration Kyle Page Sr. Defense Bowling Green Sports Management Aaron Lewicki Sr. Forward Ferris State Finance Rick Schofield Jr. Forward Lake Superior Business Administration Carter Camper Jr. Forward Miami Psychology Carl Hagelin Jr. Forward Michigan Sports Management Drew Palmisano So. Goaltender Michigan State Pre-Business Jeric Agosto Sr. Forward Nebraska-Omaha General Studies Reid Ellingson So. Goaltender Northern Michigan Undeclared Kevin Deeth Sr. Forward Notre Dame Marketing Chris Reed Jr. Defenseman Ohio State Accounting Tyler Ludwig Sr. Defenseman Western Michigan Finance

A three-time monogram winner for the Irish, Deeth served as one of the team's alternate captains this season and was a four-year regular at center. In the classroom, Deeth has a 3.586 grade-point average with a major in Marketing in the Mendoza College of Business. This season, he also was one of 18 nominees for the college hockey Humanitarian Award and is a nominee for the CCHA's Mike and Marian Ilitch Humanitarian Award for his community service work at Notre Dame.

On the ice, Deeth finished the 2009-10 season tied for fifth in team scoring with three goals and 16 assists for 19 points with the 16 assists, tying for second on the team. For the year, he was one of Notre Dame's top face-off men as he won 55.6% of his face offs.

For his Irish hockey career, Deeth became Notre Dame's career leader in games played on March 6 at Ohio State when he played in his 164th career game, breaking the mark of 163 set by Mark Van Guilder `08. The speedy center closed his Irish career ranked 35th on the all-time points list with 35 goals and 79 assists for 114 career points. He was selected to the 2007 CCHA all-rookie team after a notching a career-best 17 goals with 22 assists for 39 points. He finished his career with 14 power-play goals, three short-handed tallies and three game winners.

The faculty representative at each school, in consultation with the head coach, selected the institution's Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Each school's Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school's nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Notre Dame has had two CCHA Scholar-Athlete's of the Year in Jordan Pearce `09 who won it last season and Cory McLean `05, who was the 2005 winner.

Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to receive the school's Scholar-Athlete award. The CCHA award will be selected by the 12 faculty representatives, voting based on a system awarding five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote.



Shop Now

Auction: VIP Football Weekend vs. USC


Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats