Ice Hockey

Sophomore Defenseman Kyle Lawson Named Honorable Mention All-CCHA

March 12, 2008

Notre Dame, Ind. - Sophomore defenseman Kyle Lawson (New Hudson, Mich.) was the lone Notre Dame player to receive recognition on the 2008 all-CCHA teams that were announced today. Lawson received one first-place vote and a total of 17 points to be the fifth defenseman in the voting done by the league's coaches.

Earlier this week, freshman defenseman Ian Cole (Ann Arbor, Mich.) was an honorable mention choice on the all-rookie team. He was one of seven freshmen defensemen to receive votes.

Junior Erik Condra (Livonia, Mich.) and goaltender Jordan Pearce (Jr., Anchorage, Alaska) received votes for the all-conference team with Condra getting six points and Pearce five.

Lawson, who was a preseason all-CCHA selection, is in the midst of a strong sophomore season that has seen him equal his point total of a year ago as he has three goals and 16 assists for 19 points in 36 games while being +9 on the year. Among his three goals are one power-play tally and two game winners. He was one of three Irish players to be named to the CCHA all-rookie team in 2007.

Freshman Ian Cole was an honorable mention CCHA all-rookie team selection.

Cole is second to Lawson in scoring this season on the Notre Dame blue line as he has recorded four goals and nine assists for 13 points. Included in his totals are two power-play goals and one game winner. In December, Cole was selected to the U.S. Junior National Team that played in the World Junior Championships. He was a first-round selection of the St. Louis Blues in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft.

Condra led the Irish in scoring for the third year in a row with 14 goals and 21 assists for 35 points. He has five power-play goals, three short-handed tallies and three game winners to his credit while being +5 on the season. The right wing was an honorable mention all-CCHA selection last year and a CCHA all-rookie choice in 2006.

Pearce is in his first year as a starter and won the CCHA goals-against average title with a 1.80 goals-against average. Overall, he was 18-11-4 on the year with a 1.94 goals-against average and a .916 save percentage with two shutouts. He is Notre Dame's Scholar-Athlete of the Year and is a candidate for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

2007-08 CCHA All-Conference Teams

First Team Position Name (Yr.) School First Totals Forward Kevin Porter (Sr.) Michigan 11 55 Forward Ryan Jones (Sr.) Miami 10 53 Forward Chad Kolarik (Sr.) Michigan 7 47 Defense Tyler Eckford (Jr.) Alaska 9 48 Defense Alec Martinez (Jr.) Miami 6 43 Goaltender Jeff Lerg (Jr.) Michigan State 7 42

Second Team Position Name (Yr.) School First Totals Forward Bryan Marshall (Sr.) Nebraska-Omaha 5 40 Forward Derek Whitmore (Sr.) Bowling Green 2 31 Forward Tim Kennedy (Jr.) Michigan State 1 30 Defense Mitch Ganzak (Sr.) Miami 3 30 Defense Mark Mitera (Jr.) Michigan 2 23 Goaltender Jeff Zatkoff (Jr.) Miami 4 36

Vote Values: 1st place = 5, 2nd place = 3, 3rd place = 1

Honorable Mention (next six point totals, regardless of position with first team votes in parentheses): Billy Sauer, Jr., G, Michigan (1) 18; Kyle Lawson, So., D, Notre Dame, (1), 17; Eddie Del Grosso, So., D, Nebraska-Omaha, 16; Justin Abdelkader, Jr., F, Michigan State, 15; Justin Mercier, Jr., F, Miami, 12; Mike Ratchuk, So., D, Michigan State, (2), 12; Daniel Vukovic, Sr., D, Michigan State (1), 12; Nick Sirota, Jr., F, Northern Michigan, 12.

Others receiving votes: Forwards -- Mick Lawrence, Sr., Nebraska-Omaha, 8; Erik Condra, Jr., Notre Dame, 6; Bryan Lerg, Sr., Michigan State, 5; Carter Camper, Fr., Miami, 4; Jarod Palmer, So., Miami, 3; Tommy Goebel, Sr., Ohio State, 1; Patrick Galivan, Jr., Western Michigan, 1; Nathan Perkovich,So., Lake Superior, 1. Defense -- Jeff Petry, Fr., Michigan State, 11; Chris Summers, So., Michigan, 5. Goaltenders -- Jordan Pearce, Jr., Notre Dame, 5; Brian Stewart, So., Northern Michigan, 1; Wylie Rogers, Sr., Alaska, 1.

2007-08 CCHA All-Rookie Team

Name Position School Hometown Carter Camper Forward Miami Rocky River, Ohio Max Pacioretty Forward Michigan New Canaan, Conn. Jacob Cepis Forward Bowling Green Parma, Ohio Mark Olver Forward Northern Michigan Burnaby, B.C. Erik Gustafson Defenseman Northern Michigan Kvissleby, Sweden Jeff Petry Defenseman Michigan State Farmington Hills, Mich. Nick Eno Goaltender Bowling Green Howell, Mich.

Honorable Mentions - Forwards: Justin Menke, Ferris State; Landon Novotney, Alaska; Aaron Palushaj, Michigan. Defense: Ian Cole, Notre Dame; Chad Langlais, Michigan; Jeff Penner, Alaska; Zach Redmond, Ferris State; Chad Reed, Ohio State. Goaltenders: Brian Mahoney-Wilson, Lake Superior; Pat Nagle, Ferris State.



Shop Now

VIP Football Experience Auction


Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats