Men's Ice Hockey

Morris Named MVP At Annual Awards Banquet

April 22, 2018

NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- The University of Notre Dame hockey team held its annual awards banquet on Sunday afternoon (April 17) at the University's Morris Inn.

The team celebrated a remarkable season, including a program record 16-game winning streak, capturing both the Big Ten regular season and tournament championships during the inaugural season in the league, advancing to the Frozen Four for the fourth time in school history and to the national title game for the second time.

It marked the third consecutive season, the fifth time in the last six years and the 10th time in program history the Fighting Irish made the NCAA Championship field and the ninth time under head coach Jeff Jackson.

The season will long be remembered for a string of five consecutive playoff victories which were secured in the final minute of play or overtime, including Cam Morrison's overtime game winner against Ohio State to secure the Big Ten Tournament Championship, Dylan Malmquist's goal with 27 seconds left to lift the Irish to the NCAA East Regional Championship and a trip to the Frozen Four as well as Jake Evans' NCAA Semifinal game winner against Michigan, scored with 5.7 seconds left in regulation.

Cale Morris was named the team's Most Valuable Player and the team's Most Improved Player. After playing in one game as a freshman, Morris turned in a stellar sophomore campaign. A Hobey Baker Top-10 Finalist and the Mike Richter Award winner as the nation's top goaltender, he tied for the NCAA lead with a .944 save percentage and led the country with 27 wins and 1,202 saves. His 1.94 goals against average ranked eighth in the country. He earned First Team West All-American honors, while also being named the Big Ten Player of the Year, the Big Ten Goaltender of the Year and the Big Ten Tournament's Most Outstanding Player. He earned eight BIg Ten Player of the Week honors, including five First Stars.



Additional award winners included senior captain Jake Evans (Compton Family Leadership in Service Award), Cal Burke (Notre Dame Club of St. Joseph Valley Rockne Student-Athlete Award), Andrew Oglevie (Brian Walsh Offensive Player of the Year), Jordan Gross (William Donald Nyrop Defensive Player of the Year), Bo Brauer (Charles "Lefty" Smith Coaches Award) and Colin Theisen (Rookie of the Year).

Shop Now



Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats