125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    CCHA Launches 'Search For Mason Cup Champions'

    FIGHTING IRISH Captain T.J. Jindra and his Notre Dame teammates celebrate winning the 2007 Mason Cup at Joe Louis Arena.
    Captain T.J. Jindra and his Notre Dame teammates celebrate winning the 2007 Mason Cup at Joe Louis Arena.

    Aug. 23, 2012

    Farmington Hills, Mich. - The Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) today launched a "Search for Mason Cup Champions" to find all former CCHA players with their name engraved on the Mason Cup.

    The trophy is awarded annually to the CCHA Playoff Champion and is named in honor of legendary Lake Superior, Bowling Green and Michigan State coach Ron Mason, whose name appears on the trophy a league-high 13 times.

    The "Search for Mason Cup Champions" is part of the CCHA's Celebrate the Legacy initiative to commemorate the league's 42nd and final season in 2012-13.

    The league's website, ccha.com, will include a page to track the progress of finding members of each of the 41 Mason Cup championship teams, including their hometowns, highest level of hockey played and their current occupations. The website pages will also include team photos, logos and player photos from each team's championship season. In addition, ccha.com will feature stories throughout the season on the championship teams.

    Players from the CCHA's first playoff championship team, the 1972 Ohio State Buckeyes, have been located and the league is now looking for players from the rest of the Mason Cup championship teams from 1973-2011. To aid in the search, the league will reach out to CCHA fans through Facebook (Facebook.com/CCHAhockey) and Twitter (@CCHAhockey).

    The league also plans to invite all CCHA alumni, including the Mason Cup champions, to the final CCHA Championship weekend and Awards Show on the fourth weekend in March, 2013 at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit. Details of special weekend events for fans and alumni will be announced at the beginning of this season.

    "With the help of our member schools and fans, we are looking forward to finding our Mason Cup champions and making our final season and CCHA Championship a celebration of the league's storied 42-year history," said CCHA Commissioner Fred Pletsch.

    Additional Celebrate the Legacy components include a video retrospective with interviews of key players, coaches and administrators from the CCHA's history and the selection of a final CCHA All-Decade Team (2000-2013) to complete the All-Decade squads from the 1970s, `80s and `90s that were announced in 2001.



    CCHA Mason Cup Champions

    1972 Ohio State University

    1973 Bowling Green State University

    1974 St. Louis University

    1975 St. Louis University

    1976 St. Louis University

    1977 Bowling Green State University

    1978 Bowling Green State University

    1979 Bowling Green State University

    1980 Northern Michigan University

    1981 Northern Michigan University

    1982 Michigan State University

    1983 Michigan State University

    1984 Michigan State University

    1985 Michigan State University

    1986 Western Michigan University

    1987 Michigan State University

    1988 Bowling Green State University

    1989 Michigan State University

    1990 Michigan State University

    1991 Lake Superior State University

    1992 Lake Superior State University

    1993 Lake Superior State University

    1994 University of Michigan

    1995 Lake Superior State University

    1996 University of Michigan

    1997 University of Michigan

    1998 Michigan State University

    1999 University of Michigan

    2000 Michigan State University

    2001 Michigan State University

    2002 University of Michigan

    2003 University of Michigan

    2004 Ohio State University

    2005 University of Michigan

    2006 Michigan State University

    2007 University of Notre Dame

    2008 University of Michigan

    2009 University of Notre Dame

    2010 University of Michigan

    2011 Miami University

    2012 Western Michigan University

    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast