Men's Soccer

Ryan Finley A Finalist For MAC Hermann Trophy
Ryan Finley ranks second nationally in goals (21) and points (46).
Ryan Finley ranks second nationally in goals (21) and points (46).

Dec. 6, 2012

NOTRE DAME, Ind. - Ryan Finley, a senior forward on the University of Notre Dame men's soccer team, has been named one of three finalists for the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy. The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually and is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer.

The other finalists are Creighton senior midfielder Jose Gomez and Maryland junior forward Patrick Mullins. The winner will be announced Jan. 11 during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis, Mo. The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer's players of the year awards since 1986.

NCAA Division I coaches who are National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) members voted for their top three choices from a list of 15 semifinalists. Additionally, a new fan-voting component was added to this year's voting process and nearly 130,000 total fan votes were cast.

Finley (Lumberton, N.J./Rancocas Valley/Duke) played in all 22 matches this season and ranks second nationally in goals scored (21) and points (46). The senior forward is third nationally in goals per game (0.95) and fourth in points per game (2.09). Finley led the BIG EAST with 12 goals in league play and was named the BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year.

Finley had six game-winning goals, including two golden goals. He scored the golden goal in the title game of the BIG EAST Championship, a 3-2 double-overtime victory over Georgetown. Finley had six multiple-goal games, including one hat trick. His 21 goals rank fifth in Notre Dame history for a single season.

Notre Dame posted a 17-4-1 record this season and captured the program's third BIG EAST Championship title. The Irish were the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Championship for the first time ever. Notre Dame fell to Indiana, 2-1 in double-overtime, in the third round of the tournament. The 17 wins were the most for the Irish since 1988.

This is the third time Notre Dame has had a MAC Hermann Trophy finalist. Forward Joseph Lapira earned the honor in 2006 and 2007. Lapira is Notre Dame's lone MAC Hermann Trophy recipient as he took home the award in 2006.



Notre Dame senior midfielder Dillon Powers joined Finley as a semifinalist for this season's award.


Event Calendar


August 14
8:00 PM
Edwardsville, Ill. (Korte Stadium)
August 17
8:00 PM
Peoria, Ill. (Shea Stadium)
August 22
5:00 PM
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
August 26
7:30 PM
UC Irvine
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
August 28
2:00 PM
New Mexico
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
September 2
5:00 PM
Bloomington, Ind. (Armstrong Stadium)
September 4
12:30 PM
Bloomington, Ind. (Armstrong Stadium)
September 9
7:00 PM
Virginia Tech
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
September 13
7:00 PM
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
September 16
7:00 PM
Louisville, Ky. (Lynn Stadium)
September 23
7:00 PM
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
September 30
7:00 PM
Pittsburgh, Pa. (Ambrose Urbanic Field)
October 4
7:00 PM
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
October 8
7:00 PM
Wake Forest
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
October 11
7:00 PM
Ann Arbor, Mich. (U-M Soccer Stadium)
October 14
7:00 PM
Charlottesville, Va. (Klockner Stadium)
October 18
8:00 PM
Bridgeview, Ill. (Toyota Park)
October 21
7:00 PM
Durham, N.C. (Koskinen Stadium)
October 25
7:00 PM
Michigan State
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)
October 28
7:00 PM
North Carolina
Notre Dame, Ind. (Alumni Stadium)

Shop Now



Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

Photo Galleries


St. Joseph Health System Medifast Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka