Men's Swimming

Irish Cruise To Victory In Dual Meet At Oakland
Michael Kreft won the 3M dive Friday in the dual meet at Oakland
Michael Kreft won the 3M dive Friday in the dual meet at Oakland

Oct. 26, 2012

Complete Results

ROCHESTER, Mich. – The University of Notre Dame men’s swimming and diving team claimed first place in 11 of the 16 team events Friday in a 191-107 victory over Oakland University in a dual meet at the OU Aquatic Center.

All-American Frank Dyer was a double race winner for the Fighting Irish, taking the gold in the 50 free (21.23) and 200 free (1:38.73). Dyer also swam the anchor leg of the first place 200 medley relay squad that included Bill Bass, Cameron Miller and Bogac Ayhan (1:31.95). Zachary Stephens brought home a pair of top finishes in the 100 breast (55.86) and 200 breast (2:04.10).

Notre Dame travels to Michigan State Saturday for a 12 p.m. meet at the McCaffree Pool.


200 Medley Relay: The second Notre Dame entry of Bertie Nel, Christopher Johnson, Broderick Kelley and Kevin Overholt posted a third-place finish, clocking a 1:32.40.

1,000 Free: James McEldrew touched the wall in 9:28.27 to claim runner-up honors to lead all Fighting Irish finishers. Brennan Jacobsen (9:44.22) and Patrick Murphy (9:59.84) finished in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

200 Free: Colin Babcock claimed a second place result behind Dyer, logging a time of 1:41.86. Patrick Olson (1:43.64) finished in fourth.

100 Back: Nel led the Fighting Irish in third place, recording a time of 50.86. Freshmen Matt Buerger (51.64) and Ayhan (52.32) rounded out the top-five.

100 Breast: Notre Dame claimed all three places on the podium, as Miller (56.79) and Johnson (57.09) touched in behind Stephens.

200 Fly: John Williamson won the gold in a race that went down to the wire, logging a final time of 1:52.07. Bass was right behind in second place, clocking a 1:52.81, while Tylor Gauger came in fifth (1:54.42).

50 Free: Overholt was a mere .12 seconds behind Dyer in his runner-up finish (23.35), while John McGinley completed a third place run in 21.39.

100 Free: McGinley came away with the gold after swimming the race in 46.44, while Buerger logged a time of 47.53 for a third-place finish.

200 Back: Nel was the top performer for the Fighting Irish, tapping in at 1:51.16 to earn runner-up honors. Michael Scheid logged a 1:57.45 for fifth.

200 Breast: Johnson (2:08.90) and Joshua Choi (2:10.43) claimed third and fourth place, respectively, behind the victorious Stephens.

500 Free: Kevin Hughes was the first Notre Dame swimmer to touch the wall, taking second place with a time of 4:40.56. Jacobsen finished in fourth after a time of 4:45.18.

100 Fly: Ayhan clocked a personal-best 52.29 in a fifth-place effort, while Kelley was one place behind in the sixth position (52.30).

400 IM: Babcock won his first individual race of the season after posting a time of 3:59.92. McEldrew (4:07.45), Olson (4:08.20) and Matthew DeBlasio (4:10.23) rounded out the top-five for the Fighting Irish.

400 Free Relay: The Notre Dame entry of Buerger, Stephens, Johnson and Hughes brought home gold with a team time of 3:07.89.

1M Diving: Nick Nemetz registered a score of 321.90 points to claim first place in the event, with Michael Kreft placing second after logging 310.20 points. Ryan Koter finished in third place (274.02).

3M Diving: Kreft swept the diving titles in Notre Dame’s favor after scoring 291.37 points. Koter was the runner-up (286.87) with Nemetz closing his meet in third place (284.85).




Shop Now


Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats