Men's Tennis


May 14, 1998

Honors and Awards

National Championships 1944 National Intercollegiates, tied with Texas and Miami (Fla.) 1959 NCAA, tied with Tulane Eastern Collegiate Championships 1966 1967 1968 1974 1976 1980 1981 1982 1984 1985 1986 BIG EAST Conference Champion 1996 Midwestern Collegiate Conference Champion 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995

ITA Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame
Tom Fallon (Coach - enshrined in 1988)

 First Team All-Americans
 Dan Magill Award    
    Award given to the top senior collegiate tennis player in the country.
1992    David DiLucia
1994    Andy Zurcher
 Tennis Magazine/Arthur Ashe Collegiate Award for Sportsmanship and Leadership   
1993 -- Chuck Coleman (National Winner)
1995 -- Mike Sprouse (National Winner)
1996 -- Mike Sprouse (Regional Winner)
 Region IV Player of the Year    
1991    David DiLucia
1992    David DiLucia
1993    Will Forsyth
1994    Andy Zurcher
 Region IV Rookie of the Year    
1989    David DiLucia
1990    Chuck Coleman
1994    Ryan Simme
1997    Ryan Sachire
 Region IV Assistant Coach of the Year   
1997    Andy Zurcher
 GTE/College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-America    
1994    Andy Zurcher (Third Team)
 Coach of the Year   
1986    Tom Fallon, Midwestern Collegiate Conference
1989    Bob Bayliss, Midwestern Collegiate Conference
1990    Bob Bayliss, Midwestern Collegiate Conference
1991    Bob Bayliss, Midwestern Collegiate Conference
1991    Bob Bayliss, Wilson ITA -- Region IV
1992    Bob Bayliss, Wilson ITA -- National
1992    Bob Bayliss, Wilson ITA -- Region IV
1992    Bob Bayliss, Midwestern Collegiate Conference 
1995    Bob Bayliss, Wilson ITA -- Region IV

 Rolex Meritorious Service Award (Given by ITA)  
1995    Bob Bayliss
Byron V. Kanaley Award

Perhaps the most presitigous honor awarded to Notre Dame student-athletes is the Byron V. Kanaley Award. Presented each year since 1927 at commencement exercises, the Kanaley Awards go to the senior monogram athletes who have been most exemplary as students and leaders. The awards, selected by the Faculty Board on Athletics, are named in honor of a 1904 Notre Dame graduate who was a member of the Irish baseball team as an undergraduate. Kanaley went on to a successuful banking career in Chicago and served the University in the Alumni Association and as a lay trustee from 1915 until his death in 1960.

    Winners of the Kanaley Award from the sport of men's tennis are:
1961    Don Ralph
1966    Pedro Rossello
1977    Randy Stehlik
1991    Ryan Wegner
1992    David DiLucia
1993    Andy Zurcher

 Team Awards 
Team MVP
1988    Brian Kalbas        1993    Will Forsyth
1989    David DiLucia       1994    Andy Zurcher
1990    David DiLucia       1995    Mike Sprouse
1991    David DiLucia       1996    Mike Sprouse
1992    David DiLucia       1997    Ryan Sachire
Notre Dame Club of St. Joseph Valley Rockne "Student-Athlete" Award
1988    Ryan Wenger         1993    Andy Zurcher
1989    Brian Kalbas        1994    Horst Dziura
1990    Andy Zurcher        1995    Horst Dziura
1991    Ryan Wenger         1996    Mike Sprouse
1992    Will Forsyth        1997    Marco Magnano
Raul Temmy Katthain Award

Named for Raul Katthain, a varsity tennis player from 1963-65, and given to the player who displays the most loyalty to the team.

1991    Ryan Wenger                 1995    Marco Magnano
1992    Will Forsyth, Tad Eckert    1996    Marco Magnano
1993    Andy Zurcher                1997    Marco Magnano
1994    Eoin Beirne
Olen Parks Award

Named for Olen Parks, the first person to recieve a tennis scholarship at Notre Dame and a member of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, and given to the player who has the best personality on the team.

1991    Andy Zurcher        1995    Danny Rothschild
1992    Tommy North         1996    Brian Harris
1993    Allan Lopez         1997    Eric Enloe
1994    Tommy North
Carlton M. Harris Award

Named for Carlton Harris, captain of the 1980 Notre Dame men's tennis team, and given to the player with the best backhand on the team.

1991    Mark Schmidt        1995    Brian Harris
1992    Chuck Coleman       1996    Brian Harris
1993    Mark Schmidt                Mike Sprouse
1994    Ryan Simme          1997    Ryan Sachire
Raymond T. Bender Award

Named for Raymond T. Bender, a member of the 1959 National Championship team, and given to the player on the team with the most enthusiasm.

1991    Allan Lopez         1995    Horst Dziura
1992    Chris Wojtalik      1996    Marco Magnano
1993    Tad Eckert          1997    Ryan Sachire
1994    Allan Lopez                 Danny Rothschild
Midwestern Collegiate Conference

Notre Dame competed in the Midwestern Collegiate Conference in the sport of men's tennis from 1989 to 1995. Notre Dame dominated the men's tennis competition as it won seven straight titles and helped the Irish claim seven consecutive McCafferty All-Sports trophies.

Notre Dame's MCC Conference Champions
(S -- singles flight, D -- doubles flight)

1984 Paul Najarian (5S)

1985 Mike Gibbons (2S), Paul Daggs (6S)

1986 Tony Cahill (3D), Joe Nelligan (3D), Paul Daggs (6S), Dave Reiter (5S), Brian Kalbas (2S)

1989 David DiLucia (1S,1D), Walter Dolhare (2S,2D), Brian Kalbas (3S,2D), Ryan Wenger (4S,3D), David Reiter (5S,3D), Paul Odland (6S), Mike Wallace (1D)

1990 David DiLucia (1S,1D), Walter Dolhare (2S), Chuck Coleman (3S), Mark Schmidt (4S), Andy Zurcher (5S), Ron Rosas (6S), Mike Wallace (1D), Ryan Wenger (2D), Paul Anthony (2D), Paul Odland (3D), Chris Wojtalik (3D)

1991 Chuck Coleman (1S,1D), Will Forsyth (2S,1D), Mark Schmidt (3S,2D), Ron Rosas (4S), Chris Wojtalik (5S,2D), Tommy North (6S)

1992 Chuck Coleman (2S), Tommy North (4S, 1D), Tad Ecker (1D), Ron Rosas (5S), Will Forsyth (3S), Horst Dziura (3D), Allan Lopez (3D), Todd Wilson (2D), Chris Wojtalik (6S, 2D), Andy Zurcher (1S)

1993 Mike Sprouse (2S), Allan Lopez (3S, 1D), Eoin Beirne (4S), Tom North (5S), Tad Eckert (6S, 3D), Jason Pun (1D), Todd Wilson (2D), John Jay O'Brien (2D), Horst Dziura (3D)

1994 Mike Sprouse (1S), John Jay O'Brien (2S), Jason Pun (3S), Tom North (4S), Ron Mencias (5S), Andy Chmura (6S)

1995 Mike Sprouse (1S, 1D), Jakub Pietrowski (3S, 1D), Steve Flanigan (4S), Ron Mencias (5S), Andy Chmura (6S)

Coach of the Year

1986, Tom Fallon; 1989, Bob Bayliss; 1990, Bob Bayliss; 1991, Bob Bayliss; 1992, Bob Bayliss

Shop Now


Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats