Final Four Team Celebrates 30-Year Reunion

March 17, 2008

Fourteen members of the 1977-78 Notre Dame men's basketball team returned to campus February 24 to celebrate the 30th anniversary of its historic run to the NCAA Final Four.

That group still rates as the only team in the history of the Irish men's basketball program to achieve that distinction. Notre Dame compiled a 23-8 record under the direction of Digger Phelps and moved to the finals in St. Louis that year by beating Houston, Utah and DePaul in the NCAA Tournament.

Members of the 1977-78 squad who attended the reunion included players Bruce Flowers, Bill Hanzlik, Tim Healy, Tracy Jackson, Gilbert Salinas, Stan Wilcox and Orlando Woolridge; coaches Digger Phelps, Dick Kuchen, Danny Nee and Scott Thompson (all who later served as head coaches of Division I programs), trainer Arno Zoske; and team managers Rick Gabbianelli and Joe Toddy.

-- ND --


Shop Now



Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

Event Calendar

May 20
9:00 AM
Fourth Quarter Farewell
Guglielmino Athletics Complex
June 1
12:00 PM
Reunion Weekend Golf Outing & Reception
Warren Golf Course


President // Monogram Earned: Lacrosse
Former lacrosse standout Kevin J. O'Connor began a two-year term as president of the Monogram Club in September 2015. O'Connor, former Associate Attorney General of the United States - the third-ranking official at the U.S. Department of Justice - and United States Attorney for Connecticut, currently serves as General Counsel for Point72 Asset Management in Stamford, Connecticut.

Photo Galleries

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats