Women's Basketball

@ndwbb
Women's Basketball To Meet UConn For A Chance To Play For The National Championship

March 27, 2001

NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- For the second time in five years, Notre Dame's women's basketball team is headed to the NCAA Final Four.

The top-seeded Irish captured the Midwest Regional crown Monday night in Denver, thanks to a 72-64 victory over third-seeded Vanderbilt. National player of the year Ruth Riley led the way with a season-high 32 points.

Notre Dame moves on to St. Louis where the Irish (32-2) will face Connecticut (32-2) in the second game of a Friday night doubleheader at the Savvis Center (capacity 22,527).

Purdue (30-6) faces Southwest Missouri State (30-4) in the first game at 6:00 p.m. CST (7:00 p.m. EST in South Bend), with Notre Dame and Connecticut to follow at approximately 8:30 p.m. CST (9:30 p.m. EST in South Bend).

Winners return to play for the national championship at 7:30 p.m. CST (8:30 p.m. EST) Sunday. ESPN will televise all three games live.

Notre Dame receives an allotment of 800 tickets for the games in St. Louis (cost is $100 each).

One hundred tickets were made available to Notre Dame students beginning at 9:00 a.m. today.

Three hundred tickets have been made available to Notre Dame women's basketball season-ticket holders. Applications were distributed to season-ticket holders in mid-February, and all those who responded by the March 12 deadline have been accommodated.

No general public ticket sale is planned. Remaining tickets will be utilized by players, coaches, staff and members of the official party.

 

 

Event Calendar

Delta

November 30
W, 73-58
Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa (Carver-Hawkeye Arena)
RECAP

BTN
WatchND
BTN2Go Video Stream
Live Stats: http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=145520
December 4
W, 114-54
Valparaiso
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)
RECAP

ACC Network Extra
WatchND
December 7
7:00 PM
UConn
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ESPN2
WatchND
December 10
8:00 PM
DePaul
Chicago, Ill. (McGrath-Phillips Arena)

DePaulBlueDemons.com
December 18
2:00 PM
Toledo
Toledo, Ohio (Savage Arena)

WatchND
December 20
7:00 PM
Michigan State
East Lansing, Mich. (Breslin Center)

BTN
WatchND
December 27
6:30 PM
Chattanooga
Chattanooga, Tenn. (McKenzie Arena)

WatchND
December 29
7:00 PM
North Carolina State
Raleigh, N.C. (Reynolds Coliseum)

ACC Network Extra
WatchND
January 2
7:00 PM
Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga. (McCamish Pavilion)

WatchND
January 5
7:00 PM
Wake Forest
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ACC Network Extra
WatchND
January 8
3:00 PM
Miami
Coral Gables, Fla. (BankUnited Center)

ESPN Flex
WatchND
January 12
7:00 PM
Pittsburgh
Notre Dame, Ind.

ACC Network Extra
WatchND
January 16
7:00 PM
Tennessee
Knoxville, Tenn. (Thompson-Boling Arena)

ESPN2
WatchND
January 19
7:00 PM
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass. (Conte Forum)

WatchND
January 22
12:00 PM
North Carolina
Chapel Hill, N.C. (Carmichael Arena)

ESPNU
WatchND
January 26
7:00 PM
Duke
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ACC Network Extra
WatchND
January 29
12:00 PM
Virginia
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ESPNU
WatchND
February 2
7:00 PM
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va. (Cassell Coliseum)

WatchND
February 6
7:00 PM
Louisville
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ESPN2
WatchND
February 12
1:00 PM
Georgia Tech
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ACC Network Extra
WatchND
February 16
7:00 PM
Clemson
Clemson, S.C. (Littlejohn Coliseum)

WatchND
February 19
5:00 PM
Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y. (Carrier Dome)

ESPN2
WatchND
February 23
7:00 PM
Boston College
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ACC Network Extra
WatchND
February 26
1:00 PM
Florida State
Notre Dame, Ind. (Purcell Pavilion)

ESPN2
WatchND

Shop Now

Nissan

Auctions

Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

Photo Galleries

Canon

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats