125 Home
    Fighting Irish
    Scott Martin & Skylar Diggins Named Senior CLASS Award Nominees for Men's and Women's Basketball

    FIGHTING IRISH The Senior CLASS (Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School) Award strives to honor the attributes of senior class level student-athletes.
    The Senior CLASS (Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School) Award strives to honor the attributes of senior class level student-athletes.

    Nov. 1, 2012


    NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- Both the men's and women's Fighting Irish basketball teams have something to cheer about today, as Scott Martin (Valparaiso, Ind.) and Skylar Diggins (South Bend, Ind.) have been nominated for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award.

    The Senior CLASS Award, with CLASS acting as an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, encourages student-athletes to use their talents outside the court and lead initiatives to make positive impacts within their communities. The Award strives to honor the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The program is designed exclusively for collegiate seniors who use their complete athletic eligibility and remain committed to their university to pursue the many rewards that a senior season can bestow. The Senior CLASS Award is managed by Premier Sports Management.

    Martin, beginning his second year as a team captain, was granted a sixth year of eligibility by the NCAA in early May of 2012 and looks to once again be a key presence on the men's team this year.

    Senior captain Scott Martin (14) flies above Providence in Notre Dame's final home game of the 2011-12 season, securing yet another home court win for the Irish at Purcell Pavilion.

    Says head coach Mike Brey, "Scott's the 'glue' that holds us together and his maturity and leadership both on and off the court keyed our success last year with such a young team." Martin becomes the 20th different player in the 108-year history of the Irish men's basketball program to serve two full seasons as a team captain.

    Martin has started all 66 games he has played in for the Irish since transferring from Purdue after his freshman campaign, and has scored 633 points for a 9.6 scoring average and grabbing 346 rebounds (averaging out to 5.2 per game) in his time at Notre Dame. In 2011-12, he averaged 9.5 points and 5.7 rebounds per game while helping the Irish finish with a 22-12 overall record. Over the past two seasons that Martin has played, Notre Dame is 49-19 overall and 27-9 in BIG EAST play.

    Diggins is no stranger to success either, both on and off the court. Diggins was named to the 2012-13 preseason "Wade Watch" list in mid-September for the State Farm Wade Trophy, given annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year. She joins the likes of Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Brittney Griner (Baylor) and Sugar Rodgers (Georgetown) on the preseason list. At BIG EAST Media Day on October 18, Diggins was named the BIG EAST Preseason Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, earning the coaches' nod for this award in 2011 as well.

    Of Diggins, women's head coach Muffet McGraw says, "She finds people and yet she can still take a big shot, which we like her to do. This year is going to be another step for her." Last season, Diggins won the BIG EAST 2011-12 Player of the Year award, as well as the Nancy Leiberman Award for being the nation's top point guard. Outside of her seasonal awards, Diggins has also been chosen twice as the NCAA Regional Most Outstanding Player and has been a member of the NCAA Women's Final Four All-Tournament team in both 2011 and 2012.

    Notre Dame guard Skylar Diggins (4) shoots past Baylor forward/center Destiny Williams (10) during the second half in the 2012 NCAA Women's Final Four college basketball championship game, in Denver, Tuesday, April 3, 2012. (AP Photo/Eric Gay)

    Diggins already ranks amongst the top 10 on nine separate Fighting Irish statistical charts -- scoring average (4th - 15.3 ppg), 20-point games (4th - 33), free throws made (4th - 414), free throws attempted (5th - 541), points (6th - 1,726), assists (6th - 520), steals (6th - 267), double-figure scoring games (6th - 88), double-doubles by a guard (6th - 6) and games started (9th - 107). She is entering her senior season needing a mere 74 rebounds to become the first player in Notre Dame's history with 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, and 500 assists in her career as a student-athlete.

    Martin, a graduate student at Notre Dame, graduated in 2011 with a bachelor's degree in history and computer applications from the College of Arts and Letters. Diggins is enrolled in the Mendoza College of Business at Notre Dame as a management-entrepreneur major.

    A total of six BIG EAST schools were recognized amongst the Senior CLASS Award candidate lists, with Notre Dame being the only university to have two athletes featured on both the men's and women's lists. Both nominee lists feature seven men and seven women who were recognized as 2012 Capital One Academic All Americans by the College Sports Information Directors of America; of those students, five men and 10 women were Associated Press All-Americans as well.

    The men's winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Final Four in Atlanta April 6 and 8, while the women's winner will be announced during the NCAA Final Four in New Orleans on April 7 and 9.

    For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.


    Men's Candidates

    God'sgift Achiuwa, St. John's (N.Y.)

    O.D. Anosike, Siena

    Ben Averkamp, Loyola (Chicago)

    Brian Barbour, Columbia

    Jared Berggren, Wisconsin

    Isaiah Canaan, Murray State

    Drew Crawford, Northwestern

    Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's

    Tim Frazier, Penn State

    Mike Groselle, The Citadel

    C.J. Harris, Wake Forest

    Jordan Hulls, Indiana

    Gabe Knutson, Lehigh

    JP Kuhlman, Davidson

    Andrew Lawrence, Charleston

    Jonathan Lee, Northeastern

    Scott Martin, Notre Dame

    C.J. McCollum, Lehigh

    Brock Motum, Washington State

    Mike Muscala, Bucknell

    Robert Olson, Loyola (Maryland)

    Brandon Paul, Illinois

    Mason Plumlee, Duke

    Colt Ryan, Evansville

    Peyton Siva, Louisville

    Andrew Smith, Butler

    Michael Snaer, Florida State

    Marc Trasolini, Santa Clara

    Jeff Withey, Kansas

    Nate Wolters, South Dakota State


    Women's Candidates

    Kayla Alexander, Syracuse

    Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia

    Alex Bentley, Penn State

    Brittany Chambers, Kansas State

    Layshia Clarendon, California

    Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt

    Elena Delle Donne, Delaware

    Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame

    Caroline Durbin, New Mexico

    Shante Evans, Hofstra

    Jennifer George, Florida

    Angel Goodrich, Kansas

    Lily Grenci, Siena

    Brittney Griner, Baylor

    Whitney Hand, Oklahoma

    Tayler Hill, Ohio State

    Jacqui Kalin, Northern Iowa

    Marissa Kastanek, North Carolina State

    Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts

    Anna Martin, DePaul

    A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

    Victoria McGowan, Stetson

    Drey Mingo, Purdue

    Ta'Kenya Nixon, Eastern Illinois

    Kaela Oakes, Idaho State

    Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State

    Jaime Printy, Iowa

    Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown

    Rachel Semansky, Montana State

    Naama Shafir, Toledo


    NCAA and its marks are licensed by or trademarks of the National Collegiate Athletic Association.





    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast