Women's Basketball

Abromaitis And Novosel Named Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidates

Tim Abromaitis

Nov. 4, 2011

NOTRE DAME, Ind. - University of Notre Dame basketball players Tim Abromaitis (Unionville, Conn.) and Natalie Novosel (Lexington, Ky.) have been named candidates for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Sixty NCAA men's and women's basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates for the award.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 60 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in both men's and women's basketball midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, Division I men's and women's coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

Abromaitis is entering his fifth season with the Fighting Irish. Last month, the forward was named to the Preseason Top 50 List for the John R. Wooden Award and to the preseason All-BIG EAST First Team. Abromaitis started all 34 games last season and registered 15.4 points and 6.1 rebounds per game.

He earned third-team all-BIG EAST honors in 2010-11 in addition to taking home the BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year award for men's basketball for the second straight year. Abromaitis also has been named to the Capital One Academic All-America first team for men's basketball each of the past two seasons.



Abromaitis graduated from Notre Dame's Mendoza College of Business with a degree in finance and a 3.73 GPA in May 2010 and earned his MBA in May 2011 after being enrolled in an intensified one-year MBA program during the 2010-11 school year.

Natalie Novosel

Novosel, a guard, has copped several accolades, including 2011-12 preseason honors, during her career at Notre Dame. She was named to the preseason candidate list for the John R. Wooden Women's Award in addition to being selected to the Preseason All-BIG EAST Team.

In 2010-11, Novosel nabbed State Farm Coaches' honorable mention All-America and first-team all-BIG EAST laurels, as well as the BIG EAST's Most Improved Player award. She averaged a team-high 15.1 points per game in helping the Fighting Irish to the national title game.

Both Abromaitis and Novosel represented the United States this past August at the 2011 World University Games in China. Novosel helped the U.S. women to a perfect 6-0 record and the gold medal, while Abromaitis and the U.S. men posted a 7-1 mark and placed fifth. Abromaitis and Novosel also will captain their respective Fighting Irish squads this season.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

Men's Basketball Candidates

Tim Abromaitis, Forward, Notre Dame

William Buford, Guard, Ohio State

Kyle Bullinger, Forward, Weber State

Scott Christopherson, Guard, Iowa State

Darnell Gant, Forward, Washington

Ashton Gibbs, Guard, Pittsburgh

Drew Gordon, Forward, New Mexico

Malcolm Grant, Guard, Miami (Florida)

 Draymond Green, Forward, Michigan State

Justin Greene, Forward, Kent State

Reggie Hamilton, Guard, Oakland

Mick Hedgepeth, Forward, Belmont

Robbie Hummel, Forward, Purdue

Bernard James, Forward, Florida State

 Orlando Johnson, Guard, UC Santa Barbara

Jarrod Jones, Forward, Ball State

Kevin Jones, Forward, West Virginia

Quinn McDowell, Forward, William and Mary

 Darius Miller, Guard, Kentucky

Ronald Nored, Guard, Butler

Zack Novak, Guard/Forward, Michigan

 Zack Rosen, Guard, Pennsylvania

Jesse Sanders, Guard, Liberty

Tanner Smith, Guard, Clemson

Jordan Taylor, Guard, Wisconsin

Erving Walker, Guard, Florida

Demetrius Ward, Guard, Western Michigan

 Kyle Weems, Forward, Missouri State

Chris Wroblewski, Guard, Cornell

Tyler Zeller, Forward, North Carolina


Women's Basketball Candidates

LaSondra Barrett, Forward, LSU

Denise Beliveau, Forward, New Hampshire

 Brogan Berry, Guard, Harvard

Cierra Bravard, Forward, Florida State

 Kaitlyn Burke, Guard, Nebraska

Brittany Carter, Guard, Memphis

Jalana Childs, Forward, Kansas State

 Lauren Edwards, Guard, Princeton

Adaora Elonu, Forward, Texas A&M

Briana Gilbreath, Guard, Southern California

 Keisha Hampton, Forward, DePaul

Jericka Jenkins, Guard, Hampton

Amanda Johnson, Forward, Oregon

Emilie Johnson, Guard, UC Santa Barbara

 Glory Johnson, Forward, Tennessee

Shenise Johnson, Guard, Miami (Florida)

 Michelle Kurowski, Guard, UMBC

Kristen McCarthy, Guard, Temple

Natalie Novosel, Guard, Notre Dame

Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Forward, Stanford

Chelsea Pickering, Guard, Idaho State

Abby Plucker, Forward, North Dakota State

Justine Raterman, Forward, Dayton

Brittany Rayburn, Guard, Purdue

Monique Reid, Forward, Louisville

Ericka Russell, Guard, Alabama

Naama Shafir, Guard, Toledo

Da'Shena Stevens, Forward, St. John's (N.Y.)

Whiquitta Tobar, Guard, Alabama A&M

Corielle Yarde, Guard, Marist


Shop Now

Auction: VIP Football Weekend vs. USC


Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats