Women's Lacrosse

Barbara Sullivan Named A Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee

Sophomore Barbara Sullivan was named a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee Friday night.

April 26, 2013

NOTRE DAME, Ind. - University of Notre Dame women's lacrosse standout Barbara Sullivan has been named one of the 25 nominees for the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy, it was announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation Friday.

Sullivan becomes the seventh Irish player to be named a Tewaaraton Tropy nominee, joining Maggie Tamasitis ('12), Shaylyn Blaney ('09), Jillian Byers ('08 & `09), Caitlin McKinney ('08), Crysti Foote ('06) and Meredith Simon ('04) on that list.

Both Byers ('09) and Foote ('06) were Tewaaraton Award finalists.

A first team all-BIG EAST and IWLCA West/Midwest all-region selection in 2012, Sullivan has upped her game for the Irish in 2013. The Garden City, N.Y., native leads the team and the BIG EAST in all three of the big statistical categories - ground balls (48), draw controls (61) and caused turnovers (32). Nationally, she is second in ground balls per game (3.21), eighth in caused turnovers per game (2.07) and 24th in draw controls per game (3.86).

"This list of student-athletes certainly represents the best of the best," said head coach Christine Halfpenny. "I am excited to see Barbara being recognized amongst this group. She is a true competitor and plays hard every day. She is a natural leader and an outstanding player, but what sets her apart from others is her ability to make those around her better. I am proud of her and happy that she has gained this recognition so early in her career."



Sullivan is one of six BIG EAST standouts to appear on the list.

The award, which is presented annually to the top male and female collegiate lacrosse players in the nation, will be presented to the winners from both the men's and women's nominees May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. Five finalists from both the men's and women's lists will be announced in mid-May and invited to the award ceremony.

2013 Tewaaraton Trophy Nominees

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A

Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A

Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D

Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M

Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M

Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A

Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A

Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M

Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A

Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A

Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A

Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Soph., M

Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Soph., A

Maggie McCormick, Penn State - Soph., A

Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A

Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M

Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Soph., M

Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D

Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown - Soph., A

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A

Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D


Event Calendar


April 22
L, 16-10
Boston College
Newton, Mass. (Newton Campus Lax & Soccer Field)
April 27
2:00 PM
Boston College
Richmond, Va. (Sports Backer Stadium)

RSN/ACC Network Challenge
April 28
5:00 PM
ACC Tournament Semifinals
Richmond, Va. (Sports Backer Stadium)

RSN/ACC Network Extra
April 30
1:00 PM
ACC Tournament Final
Richmond, Va. (Sports Backer Stadium)

RSN/ACC Network Extra
May 12
NCAA First Round
May 14
NCAA Second Round
May 20
NCAA Elite Eight
May 21
NCAA Elite Eight
May 26
NCAA Final Four
Foxboro, Mass. (Gillette Stadium)
May 28
NCAA Final Four
Foxboro, Mass. (Gillette Stadium)

Shop Now



Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

Photo Galleries


NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats