Women's Tennis



NCAA Announces Automatic Bids

10 of 16 teams named for Women's Tennis Championship.

May 6, 1998

NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- The NCAA announced 10 of the 16 teams that will compete in the 1998 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship, which will be held at the University of Notre Dame from May 21-29. The top 10 teams in the country receive an automatic bid to the event, while the other six teams will be the winners of NCAA regional tournaments.

The 10 teams that received automatic bids and their records are in alphabetical order: Arizona State (13-6), BYU (22-2), California (18-5), Duke (24-3), Florida (23-0), Georgia (19-4), Mississippi (16-5), Stanford (24-1), Texas (22-5) and Wake Forest (17-8).

Stanford is currently the top ranked team in the country, according to the latest rankings by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. Florida is ranked second followed by Georgia, Duke and Texas.

The NCAA Championship consists of a 16-school team tournament, a 64-players singles tournament and a 32-team doubles tournament. The field for the singles and doubles tournament will be announced on Friday. First round pairings and times of matches for the team tournament will be announced after completion of regional play.


Event Calendar


April 23
L, 6-1
Clemson, S.C. (Hoke Sloan Tennis Center)
April 26
W, 4-0
Pittsburgh ACC Championship First Round
Rome, Ga. (Rome Tennis Center)
April 27
4:00 PM
Clemson ACC Championship Second Round
Rome, Ga. (Rome Tennis Center)
April 28
4:00 PM
ACC Championship Quarterfinals
Rome, Ga. (Rome Tennis Center)
April 29
2:00 PM
ACC Championship Semifinals
Rome, Ga. (Rome Tennis Center)
April 30
2:00 PM
ACC Championship Final
Rome, Ga. (Rome Tennis Center)

Shop Now



Official ND Online Auctions // Bid Now »

Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

Photo Galleries


NCAA Infractions Report

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats