Women's Tennis


May 12, 1998

All-Time Honors

  First Team All-America (Division I) 
Intercollegiate Tennis Association  
1994    Wendy Crabtree (singles and doubles)
        Lisa Tholen (doubles)
1995    Wendy Crabtree (singles)
1996    Jennifer Hall (singles)
  Tennis Magazine/ITA Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership and Scholarship   
1995    Wendy Crabtree (Regional Winner)
  ITA Senior of the Year 
1996    Wendy Crabtree (Regional Winner)
  Penn Player to Watch   
1996    Jennifer Hall (National Winner)
  ITA Rookie of the Year 
1991    Christy Faustmann (Regional Winner)
1993    Wendy Crabtree (Regional Winner)
1995    Jennifer Hall (Regional Winner)
  GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-America Team   
1996    Wendy Crabtree (third team at-large)
  BIG EAST Conference Coach of the Year  
1996    Jay Louderback
1997    Jay Louderback
  BIG EAST Conference Player of the Year 
1996    Jennifer Hall
Byron V. Kanaley Award

Perhaps the most presitigous honor awarded to Notre Dame student-athletes is the Byron V. Kanaley Award. Presented each year since 1927 at commencement exercises, the Kanaley Awards go to the senior monogram athletes who have been most exemplary as students and leaders. The awards, selected by the Faculty Board on Athletics, are named in honor of a 1904 Notre Dame graduate who was a member of the Irish baseball team as an undergraduate. Kanaley went on to a successuful banking career in Chicago and served the University in the Alumni Association and as a lay trustee from 1915 until his death in 1960.

    Winners of the Kanaley Award from the sport of women's tennis are:
1990    Allison Loher
1991    Kim Pacella
1996    Wendy Crabtree
Frances Patrick O'Connor Award

First presented in 1993, the Frances Patrick O'Connor Awards were named in honor of a former Notre Dame wrestler who died in 1973 following his freshman year at Notre Dame. The awards were presented upon nomination of their head coaches and were given to the student-athletes who best displayed the total embodiment of the true spirit of Notre Dame as exemplified by their contribution and inspiration to their teams.

    Winners of the O'Connor Award from the sport of women's tennis were:
1992    Christy Faustmann
1996    Holyn Lord

Team Awards

Monogram Club Most Valuable Player 1990-91 Melissa Harris 1991-92 Lisa Tholen 1992-93 Crabtree, Lord 1993-94 Wendy Crabtree 1994-95 Wendy Crabtree 1995-96 Jennifer Hall 1996-97 Kelly Zalinski Most Improved Player 1990-91 Melissa Harris 1991-92 Tholen, McGinley 1992-93 Christy Faustmann 1993-94 Meredith Siegfried 1994-95 Erin Gowen 1995-96 Kelley Olson 1996-97 Courtney Haskell Notre Dame Club of St. Joseph Valley Award (Scholar-Athlete) 1990-91 Kim Pacella 1991-92 Ann Bradshaw 1992-93 Lisa Tholen 1993-94 Terri Vitale 1994-95 Erin Gowen 1995-96 Erin Gowen 1996-97 Courtney Haskell
Midwestern Collegiate Conference

Notre Dame competed in the Midwestern Collegiate Conference in the sport of women's tennis from 1989 to 1995. Notre Dame dominated the women's tennis competition as it won seven straight titles and helped the Irish claim seven consecutive McCafferty All-Sports trophies.

MCC Champions (S -- singles flight, D -- doubles flight)

1988 Katie Clark (1S, 1D), Tracy Barton (2S,1D), Kristy Doran (3S,2D), Kim Pacella (4S,2D), Tyler Musleh (5S,3D), Cathy Bradshaw (6S), Anne Marie Dega (3D)

1989 Tracy Barton (1S,1D), Melissa Harris (2S,2D), Katie Clark (3S,3D), Alice Lohrer (4S,2D), Kristy Doran (5S,3D), Kim Pacella (6S), Eniko Bende (1D)

1990 Tracy Barton (1S,1D), Christy Faustmann (2S,1D), Terri Vitale (3S,2D), Lisa Tholen (4S,2D), Melissa Harris (5S), Kim Pacella (6S), Katie Clark (3D), Kristy Doran (3D)

1991 Laura Schwab (1S), Christy Faustmann (2S), Lisa Tholen (3S, 1D), Terri Vitale (4S, 2D), Ann Bradshaw (5S, 3D), Kristy Doran (6S, 2D), Eniko Bende (1D), Catherine McGinely (3D)

1992 Wendy Crabtree (1S, 2D), Sherri Vitale (2S), Christy Faustmann (3S, 1D), Lisa Tholen (4S, 1D), Holyn Lord (5S, 2D), Terri Vitale (6S), Eniko Bende (3D), Meredith Siegfried (3D)

1993 Holyn Lord (1S, 1D), Sherri Vitale (2S, 1D), Laura Schwab (3S, 2D), Erin Gowen (4S), Terri Vitale (5S, 2D), Meredith Siegfried (6S, 3D), Beth Morgan (3D)

1994 Laura Schwab (1S, 1D), Sherri Vitale (2S), Molly Gavin (3S, 1D), Kelley Olson (4S, 2D), Meredith Siegfried (5S), Beth Morgan (6S), Tas Fisher (2D)

Coach of the Year

1988, Michele Gelfman; 1989, 1990 and 1993, Jay Louderback.

Shop Now


Gear Store

Get your Official ND Gear // Shop Now »

St. Joseph Health System Nissan Delta Canon Visit South Bend Mishawaka Vivid Seats