125 Home
    Irish Cheerleaders

    2013-14 Cheerleading Squad

    The cheerleading program at the University of Notre Dame is a non-competitive sport consisting of two squads that cheer for the following teams:

    • Men's and Women's Soccer
    • Volleyball
    • Men's and Women's Basketball
    • Football

    Each squad has six couples. Both squads travel for their respective teams as they engage in tournaments. Cheerleaders travel for every away football game and if invited, to a bowl game.

    There are no scholarships for cheerleading. However, after three years of participation (as it is with varsity athletes) a monogram is awarded.

    The cheerleading program is funded by the Department of Athletics, with adidas as a corporate sponsor.

    In the fall, practice is four nights a week to prepare for games on friday, saturday and sunday. The four nightly practices continue during the second semester, unless appearances are scheduled for basketball games.

    Tryouts are held in early April following the execution of 8-10 clinics. Scoring is determined by proficiency in stunting (which is taught), a rendition of the Notre Dame Victory March, overall cheering, cadence a dance and a tumbling pass. While most of the ladies arrive with experience, few of the men do.

    The freshman year is a crucial one for young people making the transition from high school to college. With that in mind, we encourage the primary focus to be on academics, coupled with the adjustment to the college environment. If one is interested in the cheerleading program, the opportunity is presented in the sophomore year.

    Foremost, cheerleaders are ambassadors of the University of Notre Dame. Community involvement promoting good will is a big factor in this program, not only in the immediate area, but also in those communities visited. Appearances are scheduled on our travels whenever time permits.


    L-R Front Row: Assistant Coach Heidi Barker, Elizabeth Weir, Courtney Krishnan, Molly Mohr, Leprechaun John Doran, Sarah Dapper, Alexandra Westby, Olivia Mitchell, Head Coach Jo Minton

    L - R Back Row: Robert Fischer, Kevin Blonien, Michael Favia, Ryan Lopez, and Christopher Genco. Not pictured Bryan Doane


    L-R Front Row: Head Coach Jo Minton, Katie Acosta, Rachael Biscocho, Carson Bogatto, Alli Jacobs, Emily Schultz, Leprechaun Nathan Bombardier, Nora Garvin, Lauren Michels, Carly Feduska, Nikki Murgas, Ali Arguelles, Assistant Coach Heidi Barker. Not pictured: Julia Lee

    L-R Back Row: Conor Kinasz, Rob Butler, Kevin Hart, Dennis Coulter, Cole Johnson, Ben Evans, Nick Bielanski, Alex Rosner, Ryan Spoonmore, Patrick Walsh, Tyler Shiber, Matt Kirian, Brennan Sullivan and Morris LaGrand. Not pictured: Leprechaun Mitchell Meersman.

    Corporate Sponsors
    Team Notre Dame


      St. Joseph's Medical Center Medifast